Great Britain Indian Department Collection, 1753-1795

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Choptank and Amos Ogden Manuscript Document and ANS to English Deputies, August 12, 1767; Nanticoke

2
Needs Review

desire to know, and if you will want a Supply to carry you back. The Lands we have some of them being Rented brings us in some Money if you do want and will let us know, we will spare you what we can to make your Journey Home comfortable {unclear punctuation} And we will think well of your Talk and try how warm it will be to our Hearts; and if we find that it will make us strong and young, and make us able to take a Journey to your Town and to General Johnson, we will send to you to tell you of it. We wish you well.

Bothers we wish you well, and hope you will meet your friends well.

{{ new writer. Amos Ogden}}

This is the Choptank answer~ Or - Reather one Con.ll Loyd, Who they aply'd Too for his advise- as he [?ever?] intends great friendship, to these Indians- but notwithstanding his [?Pottisey?], their Will Seem Part of them. Return. With the [?Peartey?]- The Nanticokes, are all [?Unamis or Unanimous?], to Remove and . the Greattest. If, not all, the Snow Hill Tribe

Amos Ogden

Last edit 12 months ago by anneec
4
Needs Review

August 12, 1767 Nanticokes answers to the Deputys sent from [?Hence or Nence?] also a letter from Cap.t Amos Ogden [Ansrd] [?7br. or July?] 9th 1767

Last edit 12 months ago by anneec

[William Legge, 2nd Earl of] Dartmouth LS Copy to [William Jo]hnson, August 4, 1773; Whitehall

1
Needs Review

Duplicate (No. 5.) Whitehall [?4th]: August 1773

Sir,

I have received and laid before the King your dispatches of the 22d and 30th of April.

The importance of keeping the [?abbreviation] confederacy of the six Nations firmly attached to us must be obvious to every one and your attention to that object and to preventing any defection of the Senecas is approved by the King.

What you state in your Letter No. 5. respecting the View with which you endeavoured to bring back such of the six Nations as had separated themselves from the confederacy, is very full and satisfactory, and from your explanation of your conduct on that Occasion, and of the situation to which they had removed, I see clearly the Utility & advantage of your Plan and am persuaded it will have a good effect.

What you have said also of the entire acquiescence of the six Nations in the Plan for establishing a [?Govt:] on the Ohio, has satisfied all my Doubts on that Head; and I hope the other Tribes will, by degrees, be better reconciled to that Measure.

I am Sir, your most obedient humble Servant Dartmouth {appears to be a signature by a different hand]

[?nson.] {a corner of the document appears to be missing}

Last edit about 1 year ago by Dennis K
2
Needs Review

#673 No. 5. Whitehall [?4] Aug [?], 1773.
From Ld Dartmouth Secy of State

Last edit about 1 year ago by Dennis K

John Wetherhead LS to Guy Johnson, September 29, 1774; New York

1
Needs Review

(Copy) Boston Sept 12. 1774
Sir

The Enclosed is Copy of a Letter General Gage wrote to Mr Robinson Secretary to the Treasury, accompanying Sir William Johnson's Representation to him on Mr Robert's Conduct in Seizing] [?N] Rum at [?which] [?] action [?]

The General when in London, did speak to Mr Robinson personally on this Subject, and recommended Your Situation as a Hardship; He further desires me to reacquaint You, that He thinks the best Method you can take to Attain Payment, is to get Some Person in London, to solicit the Treasury in your Behalf, referring to His Letter & [?Suscititious?] Representations as proper Pretexts for your Applications, which He hopes will meet with the regard they deserve -

[?Flurry] of Business & the unstated Situation [?] [?] in, has prevented me from getting the Enclosed Copy till Very lately, which I hope will [plead?] my Excuse for the Delay -

You have likewise Enclosed the Letter you gave me for General Gage's Perusale -

I am Sir Yours &c Stephen Kimble

New York 23d Sept 1774 {cursive line under "Sept 1774"}

The Above My Dear Colonel is Copy of a Letter I yesterday received from Major Kimble respecting my unfortunate Affair with Roberts; which I with great Grief communicate to you, in order to Shew you that I am not one moment nearer receiving Satisfaction or Redress for my Sufferings & Losses in that matter, which with the Sum given against Roberts by thee rascally Jury, [Corts?]of [?Sute] on both[ sides, Council Fees &c &c & &c. Amounts in the whole to £300; a Sum by much too large for me to [beter?], Considering the many heavy Losses I have sustained by my unfortunate Connections in Trade with Van Schaack & others, which amounts to Severall thousand Pounds - I say it does not appear to me that I am one moment nearer receiving my Money, than I was the Day the matter was tryd at Court -

I had flattered myself that the joint Application of Sir William & General Gage would have very speedily contributed to take these Burthens from off my Shoulders; & I could never find out my Situation until I received these above Letters from Kimble -

I shall do all I can to follow the Advice the General gives me, to apply to the Lords of the Treasury: but as I know no body of any Consequence or Influence to solicit for me, I cant help fearing but it will be all in Vain - I have hinted this to General Gage & have requested him to write a Line to Mr Robinson Secretary to the Treasury to [?putt] Him in mind of the Affair; but

Last edit 8 months ago by elainehinch
2
Needs Review

Whether the General will think proper to do this. God knows -

I know not whether you have any Connection with the Treasury, or with the Secretary Mr Robinson, in Consequences of the offices in which You Succeed Sir William, which, from my Soul, I wish may be Confirmed to You - but This I know, that you have a feeling Heart; & it is to That I now apply to assist me by Every Means in your Power, [or?] that you can devise to procure me Redress in an Affair, in which I am so greatly Suffering. for Nothing but my Readiness to Obey (he I thought) Sir William Johnson's Orders for the Support of one of His officers in the doing His Duty, in Obedience to Orders given Him by Sir William with the approbation of General Gage -

If You have any Connection with the Lords of the Treasury or with Mr Secretary Robinson - I must desire You will write them or Him on this Subject; but if not, I must leave it to Yourself to devise in what manner You shall think it best to help me in this unfortunate Affair, being fully confident of Your Disposition to do all in your powers to procure me Redress

Permitt me only to add my sincere Respects to thee whole Family & to assure You that I am with [?unfeigned] Regard & Esteem

My Dear Sir Your most Obedient Hble Servant

John Wetherhead {symbol or continuation of signature?}

Supposing nothing Else can be done, Have you not Some Agent or Friend in London of some Consequence, whom you could ingage to [?] my Friend in Soliciting the Treasury? if You have, I shall judge it proper to write to Him for this purpose, desire Him to apply to Charles William [?os] Esq. St James's Place London, to whom I shall transmitt all my papers respecting this matter by the very next packett; or if You [?write], [?] me know the Gentleman's Name I will [?] Mr. William [os?] or to Call upon Him to advise with Him on his proper mode of Proceeding -

Last edit 8 months ago by elainehinch
4
Needs Review

To {the following is light as if in pencil or erased} 2.U

Colonel Guy Johnson His Majesties Super Intendant of Indian Affairs Att Guy Park

{the following stamped:} [?NEW YORK] {a red seal, upside down, with initial "JW"} {the following stamped in a circle:} [?]

{the following upside down, below, and to the left of the original text above:} 28th Septr 1774 From Mr Wetherhead respects his [?] with Lt Roberts.

Ansd. 29 Octr.

Last edit about 1 year ago by Dennis K

G[uy] Johnson ALS to [John] Wetherhead, October 29, 1774; Guy Park

4
Needs Review

Guy Park Octobr 29th 1774

To Mr. John Wetherhead N. York

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank

John Johnston ALS to John Butler, October 1777; "Senake Country," "Connatasage"

1
Needs Review

Senake Country Connattasage PS 1777'-

Sir

I have the Most Agreable news to Aqquant you that my Last Information of the death of Mr. Butler is Contradicted by the Chiefs of the Six Nations who are hear now Assembled tto Condole the Loss of the Warriours who were Latily killd: Although at first by Servals of the Indians the Declaired to me its being fact that he was put to death these the Chiefs Says that Mr Butler was Brought to the place of Execution where his grave was fixed and digd: But no Execution was found where upon the Coln. or Genl. Commanding them said he would do it himself rather than he should not be Executed the Committi and people at the flatts Immedately being Enraged at the proceedings and Determinattion of the Bostoniners Orderd him to be forthwith released and sent to Albany where he still remains with the Others who Accompanied him: Except the Indians who are released.

I hope this may Serve to Ease the mind of Col Butler and Every one who is Well Disposed which if it had happened to have been Truth as at first it was Presented to be it must have been a Most Barbourous Unhuman Dismal Scene------

My Advise by the Chiefs who are hear now Assemble: Says hear {struck} Says that Some of the Onidias Informed that they Were in fort Stanwix a few days after our Retreat and the place was greatly Shatterd by our Shells and numbers killd and wounded. a Woman being big with Child a shell fell Just befor her and cut of Both her Legs of which She died Instantly. the Commanding officer Declairing if We had continued the Seige two or three day Longer he must have given up the Fort-----

By an Onondago Indians who had a lame; Hand and was with Lieut Powel on, Express to General Burgoins from fort Stanwix-

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
2
Needs Review

Some time ago Who {struck} and another Indian who left the Army Some time ago about a month and Informs that General Burgoyne was about 3 Miles from Albany Inbonpt at Old Col Peter Schylers House and the General told the Indians in about 15 days from that time he Expected to be in possesion of Albany a few days Before, this left the Army that Luke Le Corns Son Arrived from the Army from {struck} under General Clinton as they Say and that Col Johnson was Landed and As they say they had 800 shiping in the River A {struck} I suppose they mean Large and Small Crafts Includedand the General told them that he Expected that Both Armys Would Meet in one day at Albany General Burgoyn Returnd the Six nations thanks for there Gallant Behavour Against the Rebles and Likewise told them that Very Soon they Might Expect his magistys thanks for there Loyalty in helping to Support government

Mr Brantt With his family and about 20 Men Women and Children of the Mohawks are now in Connussadago being Robed. of Every thing that they had and Distrust them in a Most Shocking manner by them Rasscaly Schylers that is David Schyler Hanjost Schyler and the Houses With a Number of Villanous Oriska Indians Mr Brantt is hear in Connatasage who came hear yestarday to pay a Small Visit.-

The Mohawkes of fort Hunter are all Run With there Women and Children a party of Cauknawagos Coming from General Burgoyns Army to fetch them some where Between the Mohawk river and Saratogoa they meet a Reble Scouting party and came to an Engagement they killing Seven of the Reble party the Rest making there Escape: one Mohawk Was Killd Arons Brother Cornelus

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
Displaying pages 31 - 40 of 169 in total