Great Britain Indian Department Collection, 1753-1795

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

John Johnston ALS to John Butler, October 1777; "Senake Country," "Connatasage"

3
Needs Review

By name they are all safe Arrived at general Burgoins Army----

four Indians are now in Albany now as Spies in order to see and discover the Movements of the Army and as Soon as the General is in possesion of it to Immediately forthwith to return and give Information of the Success. Yestarday an Express Arrived hear Whom I had Dispatchd to Oswego in Order to see if Col. Butler was Arrived there as he promised or passd that Way; who brings me a Letter from Lawrence Partow he being the only person now residing there the Army being Long-Gone from there he Informs that a few days ago four Rebles Deserters Arrived from fort Stanwix at Oswego with a Large french Battoe and says that when they left it there was no more than 300 Men in the place and the one half was waiting for an Oppertunity to Desert they are gone to Canada-

a few days ago a Deserter Arrived hear to me at Connatasage from Washingtons Army who says that when he Left it Washington was within 26 Miles of philadelphia and was a prepairing to go down to meet Genearl How at the head of Elk river about 60 Miles from philadelphia: and at his Arrival at WyOmean on the Susquhanaha an Express Arrived that General Washington was Defeated and that he and 2 other Commanding officers had made there Escape to philadelphia where it was said he Entended to make a Stand with the Mileatia and other Scattering Troops Mr Brantts people to about the Number of about 40 Mohawks Will want assistance of Cloaths and that soon to keep them from the Cold as they are Stript as aforementioned. To Conclude with my Respect, To the Commanding officer Col Butler and Mr Pollard Remain gentlemen yr Humbl. Servt. John Johnston

To Col John Butler.....

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
4
Needs Review

Mr Brants complements to Coll Bu {struck} Mr Pollard and desires if you would be so good as to Credit him to send him a piece of your Best small flowerd Callico as Likewise 2 wt. of Tea

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank

John Johnston ALS to [Guy Johnson?], April 1, 1779; "Connatasage"

1
Needs Review

Cunnutarage April 1st 1779 {struck} April 1st 1779 Dear Sir,

I Received Your Letter as Well as those directed to Gen Clinton In Answer to which By Aron who was returning to Niagiara I mentioned in a few words the Sentiment, of the Chiefs and warriors as at that time I had not Leasure to Mention the Oppinion and Determination of the Indians By reasons the next Morning after the Result of there Council the night Before. / Aron returned: the Indians for the most part being in Liqour.

The same day as your messages arrived a Belt in the name of the french arrived the purport of which I In Close Wherein you will discover the Policy of the Rebels in Endeavouring to Insinuate themselves into favour of the Indians which makes the point we are Upon for Goverment the more difficulate to Conpute first I mentioned to them of the Sinicer desire you had of exchanging prisoners with them as Likewise in particular your most Intrusting Inclination of seing your family once More whom you had so Long parted with in order to support Goverment and Oblidge them the six nations and that provided: Mr Campbell should insist or Request that Some who are amongest the Indians should be giving up in Exchange for those you Nominated in Espesal Manner your family: that you hope that they would assist you therein if agreeable to them / at the same time I Explaind Capt Butlers Letter to them Directed to General Clinton to Let them know that neither you nor Capt. Butler spoke positively that it should be done with regard of the prisoner being Given up Only that he would use his Influence to have it Brought about for the sake of Your family if it was Agreeable to the Chiefs. {line of dashes}

On which a Councill was Calld of the Cayugas and Sinakes and your Messingirs the Mohawk Onandago & Onidias which represented the six nations first they asked who sent this purposal to the rebels to exchange prisoners with them it was Immedately Answerd by one and All of them that none of them knowed or were made privey to it untill the answer Came from General Clinton to Capt Butlers Letter on which they asked myself if Capt. Butler had showed me or Aqquainted me that he purposed to the Rebels to exchange prisoners with them I told them Positively Not or Indeed Sir if I had been made privey to it I would not have told them at that Most Critical Juncture for in Consequence of which they would Immedately have put Every prisoner to death: which would further have added to a Scene of Blood / Secondly say they your promise Was that such prisoners as we Took was oure own Accordingly to our rules and Customes / as we are a people which know not of Exchanging and pray if we deliver our prisoner up Who Will be Able to deliver us Living souls for our dead which lost there Lives at fort Stanwix against the Rebels / in the next place Consider the french Message which says there is Only a few Fools Belonging to the king of Britian left to decieve and never preform what they Solomily pretended to us Brother and this your request Unforethought is not Suitable For Reasons &c. &c.

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
2
Needs Review

some people Might Immagine what was said Before to them was Truth By the french: and we on our Part the Chiefs of the six nations think it highly Nessarary not to know any thing of the Exchange made By Capt. Butler and we would be glad that Col. Butler Would settle the Affair with any thing agreed to/But so contrary to the rules of us that we Cannot approve of it But Endeavour to follow Every thing promised by us on the List who are recorded friends to Goverment by those who will prove it therefor rest satisfied that we do not Want to speak to them on no other Terms than Bringing them to a due thought of paying a Respect to them they have offended

Likewise Continued they if that we should Condecend to deliver any one single one of there ones up they would Immagine that we was not able to withstand them which is all they want our Complyance

for in the Constant Status of Schyler threatens to put Both Men Women and Children to the sword to pay us in our own Coins; and if he should attempt any thing of the kind we have it in our powr to do the same {a long line}

I have told them as I Mentioned Before that it was not your Request that it should positively take place But only to ask there oppinions -

I have done my Endeavor as

You Requested -

I am Sir Yr. Most Ob. Hbl.

[Servt. John Johnston -

I further aqquaint you that there is Differant Partys, a Going and gone out to war and Impossable to stop them / no {struck} some time ago there was {struck} the person arrived Who was in Albany Karyhaugees son of Kunnussadago. Old printups Bread Who Informs that he see three Differant divisions of Rebels passing through Albany designd as Schyler said towards Canada/which Makes Agreable to the Generals Information from York/Which Makes Every Matter Appear More plainly they are Using there utmost Craft: to Turn the harts of the Indians and on our part I hope As I hitherto Mentioned that nothing will be amiss on our parts Who are {struck} to Confute their Intentions: Provisions I have hitherto Mentiond Without repetions Would be a Means of InCouraging them as they are in Great distress most of the Men kind will be soon gone from this Villiage so as it will Make there Women and Children Most Missarable Without to some Timely Assistance/The rebel Onidias and some Onandagos are Constantly Imployed at Cayuga with Messages Backwards & forwards from Conawarohan in Order to Change there Minds I never during my tarry hear Was put to such a pinch as this present for to Get two People to Accompany the Generals Express for if I had Offerd 50 dollars a Peice not one would Listen they being all designd for War Untill I got the Bearer to Oblidge me Whome I promised should be rewarded by you with 15 dollars and received every Mark of kindness from you for his Complyance as the river and Creeks are Most Terable high {line of dashes} and the Message of the Most Serious Attention to forward you will find by the french speech to the Indians that it aggrees with what the General Mentions in regard of the perfidity of the Canadians

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
3
Needs Review

Your Letter to me Dated March: 16. mentioning to me that Provided any of those friends to Goverment I aqquainted you in My Last of should Come this way that I would Encourage them from you by telling them they should draw pay from the 24 of Oct. last at the Rate of 2 / pr. Day all which I will do by giving them all the Encouragement and Assistance in my Power / the Arrival of the Generals Express from York assisted me a Great deal by Confirming what I had all along Laid Before them as Truth. / I have Explained to the Chiefs the Coppys and Speeches of those Letters you sent Me from Detroit I could by no Means fetch the provisions you aqquainted Me was at Gerondaquat By reasons of a deep snow which fell and rivers and Creeks Most Excessive high: so as was it not for my Landlady I Could not be able to Get any Corn provisions Amongst them Either for Myself of any other travelers as Likewise any few things you send Me it waste like wax Before the fire: they will not on the Least trifling Occasion speake under a pair of stockings or a shirt it is Black times hear so as I am almost sick of it / I Return you thanks for aqquainting me of the provisions at Gerondadquat I am when Oppertuinity May serve afraid to fetch it as there is so many familys hear with there mouths open I am Sir with my Compliments to Col. Bolton and the Rest of the Gentm.

Sir your Most Obt. Humbl.

Servt. John Johnston

Capt Indian Dept.

P.S. I think that it would be highly necessary for you to be aqquainted as speedily as possible if the seven nations were in the rebel interest or not Yrs. J Johnston

I was oblidgd to kill two cows for the treaty held hear the other day as My Orders to you will Specify and another for My self and friends yesterday if the Bearer You Could prevail upon to send {struck} to Bring Me a Small Cage of Good stuff would be very Exceptable as the Little you sent me there Cheifs never Let Me Rest Whilst they were drye and I had to Give them

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
4
Needs Review

Coppy of Letter Indian Dept: No. 36

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank

[Guy Johnson] Manuscript Journal, June 1, 1780 - June 13, 1780; Little Niagara

1
Needs Review

Minutes -

Thursday June 1st P.M.

Colo. Johnson, attended by Lt. Colo. {struck} Brother {struck} Capt Powel Lt. Dachstedr. Mr. Constable set out for the New Indian Settlements on the rout to Ohio & lay at the Landing that Night Friday 2d. Early in the Morning Col Johnson was Joyned by Lt Col Butler, & proceeded over the Carrying place to Little Niagara where he encamped, The Boats & presents being got over & all ready - Saty 3d. he Embarked abt. 10. AM. being joyned by a party of about 20 Tuscaroras, & encamped that Night in French Mans Creek 6 Ms. below Ft Erie [This is a fine large {struck} deep Creek capable of receiving many boats & navigable a good dist. up,] Sunday 4th called at Fort Erie, & recd. some provisions, then crossed the mouth of the Lakes to Buffaloe River distce. four Miles, in a very high Sea, & with difficulty got in, having got above the Bar, went up & encamped on the righthand half, a Mile from the Lake & then proceeded up to the New Seneca Town, 8 Mls. by Water on the Left Side Just below the Fork, here are great {struck}, rich & extensive plains and the River is above 60 yards broad most part of the Way & navigable for the largest boats, about 10 Houses, already built. Kanadasiggs & & about {blank space}people in 2 Settlemt. after Visiting Sayengaraghta returned at night.

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
2
Needs Review

Monday June 5th. Early in the Morning gave out some Corn Seed to the Indians & Left them attachd. Swivel for a Signal Gun, & embarked for Kadaragaras with Sayengaraghta, about 10. o'Clock. proceeded along the {struck} by a Low Sandy beach & arrived at Cat fish Creek, about 1/2 past 4 P.M. but the Wind proving unfavorable put in & Encamped on a Small island in it here is a large Spit of Gravell Extending N.E but the entrance is easy,

Tuesday 6th Decamped early, & passing many Cliffs of Rocks, (particularly the last resembling three Round Towers) arrived at Kadaragaras bay (which has a fine entrance in a fathoms Water) at Noon, & after going up the Creek to Rykmans landg on the left Hand returned & encamped at fine apt. on the same Side half a Mile from the Lake. at Night was Visited by Kakakady & other Chiefs & by the Indn. Officers. - I called it Butlers Cove Guys River

Wedy 7th A Very Rainy day, which prevented the going to Kadaragaras, recd. an Acct. that the War party had retd. from Ohio with 26 Prsrs. & Scalps (10 of the latter). Cleared & opened our Encampment. & caught many fine Bass.

Thursday 8th - at 9. AM. went up the Creek, to the Town Landing, found some strong Rifts but it is in genl. 50 yds. Wide & Sufficiently Navigable for boats, the Settlement is in fine plains on the Left, about 6 Ms. up by Water. was recd. In a very polite Manner by 140 Warriors painted with Colours flying, who fired 3 Vollies which was retd. by the War party, &

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
3
Needs Review

& after shaking Hands with the Chiefs, & acquainting them with the occasion of my Visit & Inviting them to my Encampment the next day, Left them a Keg of Liquor & retd. The Inds. expressing Infinite Satisfaction at my havg. Visited them. They are in great Want of everything. The first incampt. is the Strouds. The next the Senecas & the Ohio Delawares above them.

Friday 9th In the Morning {blank space} came to me & in {struck} after setting forth that he had at my desire gone to War & was Successfull havg. taken 3 prisrs. & a Scalp at Juniata deliv'd up two Childn. Eli Plummer aged 12 yrs. & Sarah his Sister aged 9. the latter to me with my belt, the former to L Col. Butler, Thanked him for making my mind easy, & agreable to promise told him his party shod. be Cloathed. Soon after the Delawares brot. in 2 Men Prisrs. The one named Hamilton born in London the other {space follows} both taken near Hand Stone Pensilva. about the 12th May, They report that the Rebels sold their Bat Horses to the No. of 1000 last fall, & that they heard the Kings Troops were very Successfull in Carolina. Great pains being taken by myself & every Method practised by Lt C Butler for the redemption of Miss Moore, Sayengaraghta] his sister & family came this Morning & gave 2 belts to quiet the Mind & retd. the former belts sayg. that she was in the hands of a Woman who cod. not be prevailed on for any Consideration to part wth. her, They were directed to make an Effort more at all Events. The Bunts Son came to Signify his desire to go with 5 of his people (to be joyn'd by others) to War. I approved it & promised him a belt recomdg. their Joyng Lt. Dachstedders party wch. was agreed to,

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
4
Needs Review

At a Meeting with the Indians of Kadaragaras. Friday 9th June 1780. Present Colo. Guy Johnson Super intendt. &c Lt Colo John Butler Depy. Capt Powell, Lt. Johnston & other officrs. of the Departmt. Sayengaraghta Kakakady. Chiefs of the Senecas| of the Delaware| Onondagas Cakadose & abt. 300 Inds.

Colo Johnson first performed the Ceremony of Condolances with Three Strings. & returned their Compliments made yesterday after which he deliver'd himself as follows

Brothers, I am very happy in Meeting you all this day in health {blank space} at your new & promising Settlement, to which I have been induced to come, at your own {struck} repeated desires, & my own Honst. inclinn. to Examine in {struck} to Enquire into your State & Circumstances here and to consider on the spot, what is most necessary to be done for you, I have heard of all your Wants & received your {struck} the distresses you have been reduced to by the inroad of the Virginians wch. occasioned my recommendg. it to you {struck} all those who had resided at the Heads of Allegany River, to assemble at this {struck} here, as a place of more Convenience & Security, and I am well pleased you have done so. I als. have Wished on this occasion to have been enabled to bring you that Relief you have so repeatedly sollicitted, but tender that {struck} the great Number of Inds. who Winter'd at Niagar not only occasioned a Vast Consumption of provisions but likewise the Season has been so - back-

Last edit about 1 year ago by christiank
Displaying pages 41 - 50 of 169 in total