King Family Papers

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Alex E. Hos[ ]ll ALS to [Benjamin D.] Silliman, July 31, 1866; s.l.

1
Needs Review

July 31st 1866

My dear Lilliman

I regret that I cannot fully answer your question knowing nothing of the internal arrangements of our Asylum_ The gentleman you speak of will of course be as private as his friends could wish in all of them - The best and most private is the one under the charge of Dr [Buck??] Litchfield Connecticut which I think is the best Dr [Buck??] has a high reputation in his profession.- It is a private institution and has the confidence of any one I have no doubt the gentleman can find a cottage for his own use It is not so expensive _ I have always sent my patients to it having [??] entire confidence in Dr [Bu??]

Believe me always your friends Alex E Ho[??]ll

Last edit about 1 month ago by Jannyp

A. Dunn ALS to Madame, January 19, 1877; s.l.

1
Needs Review

Jany 19 1877

Madame

I have interviewed Mr Hammell's Son and obtained following. Mr Gordon came to [??] Brown's School by with reputation of being an heir to large properties South and with the idea that some of his relatives were trying to get his money. He also behaved badly while there and ran away twice each time being brought back by his Guardian

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
3
Needs Review

who they think lived in Phila,, the last time he ran away he left Sundry debts unpaid also Dr Browns bill which was eventually paid by his Guardian. This they are not positive of having it only in remembrances. Same being told to Dr Hammell by Dr Brown

I received letter from the son of Geo H Brown who says they are progressing in their search.

Yrs Alex Dunn

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
4
Needs Review

A Dunn Jan 19, 1877

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV

A. G. Stanwood ALS to George Gordon King, July 11, 1895; Boston, [Massachusetts]

1
Needs Review

[letterhead: Chicago Burlington & Quincy Railroad Co. Assistant Treasurer's Office, Sears Building. Boston] July 11 1895.

George Gordon King Esq Newport, RI.

Dear Sir:

I am in receipt of your letter of the 10th instant enclosing Iowa Land Association Certificate as stated, and I return it herewith, together with my check for $48.00 I trust that you will be able to find the other certificate representing the late Edward King's stock.

Yours truly,

A. G. Stanwood

Last edit about 1 month ago by Jannyp
2
Needs Review

{M.3277.4}

Last edit about 1 month ago by Jannyp
3
Needs Review

{Please give this matter your immediate attention}

IOWA LAND ASSOCIATION.

701 SEARS BUILDING, BOSTON, June 3, 1895.

All of the Assets of the Iowas Land Association have been converted into cash, and amount to $2,094.40, a sum sufficient to make a Final Distribution of One Dollar and Sixty cents ($1.60) per share, which will be paid to the Stockholders upon presentation of their Stock certificates to the undersigned, that this final distribution may be stamped upon them.

When this Distribution has been made, the affairs of the Association will have been wound up.

A. G. STANWOOD.

July. 12./95. Recvd $48. - Certificate No. 11. for 30 shares in Name Wm H. King dated Nov. 13th 1857.

Last edit about 1 month ago by Jannyp
4
Needs Review

{M. 3277.4}

Last edit about 1 month ago by Jannyp

G[eorge] G. King ALS to Mr. Swazy, Undated; Newport, Rhode Island

1
Needs Review

NEWPORT, RHODE ISLAND.

Sunday Morning

My dear Mr. Swazy

My Mother recvd the letter from Mr. [Sheffield?] when I was away & locked it in her wardrobe. She did not remember the fact yesterday, but did so in the night. I now enclose it.

Very sincerely

G.G. King

Please ask Mr. Glover to come to tea with you at 7 p.m.

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV

Amelia de [?]ough ADS to William H. King, November 11, 1863; Newport, R[hode] I[sland]

1
Needs Review

This is to certify that I have let and rented unto William H. King my furniture house and premise, situate on the corner of Touro and Mill Street in Newport Rd.

{left margin: postage stamp 50 c}

For the winter term, or season, commencing at this date, and ending on the first day of June 1864: For the rent or sum of, Five hundred and fifty dollars, payable, one half, on or before the first day of December next and the remainder, on the first day of April 1864,

And I hereby agree to put in plumbing [word??] into the house to include a bath and Water closet, - together with a new range, as soon as practicable, during this month of November.

And to leave the premises, and furniture for the use of said King in [good] [order?]

Given under my hand and seal this 11th day of November A. D. Eighteen hundred and sixty three.

In presence of Amelia le Gough

A Smith

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 17 in total