Wawanosh Family

Pages That Need Review

Wawanosh Sands Mern_fonds_Series 1 correspondence File 2

33
Needs Review

Letter from D B Wawanosh to the Dept respecting his position, [location?] [&c?]

Sarnia Feb. 17. [1838?] [1858?].

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
35
Needs Review

Indian Deparment Sarnia Sept. 2. 1857.

Having taken into consideration the statement made by you that the [sin?] of [drunkenness?] is prevailing [amung?] [among?] certain members of your Band, we have determined to recommend to His Excellency, to order the [Annuity?] or other payments due to such persons who [persest?] [persist?] in this practice to, be stopped.

Tho. [Worthington?] Froome Talfourd [Commissioners?]

To. [Mr?] David Wawanosh Head Chief of Chippewas of Sarnia

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
36
Needs Review

July 1867

[£.135"18"2?] [135 pounds, 18 shillings, 2 pence?]

Required for the use of the Chippeway Indians of Port Sarnia the sum of One hundred thirty five pounds, eighteen shillings & two pence for the purposes mentioned below.

To be [charged?] to the Annuity payable to this Tribe for Lands ceded to the Crown.

To pay for a new house for [Wm?] Wawanosh £ 42 " 10 [42 pounds, 10 shillings]

To purchase a yoke of oxen for } [I. Mashahkeyosh?] -- 25 " " [25 pounds]

To pay [D. Furguson?] for finishing } new School House -- 31 " 5 " [31 pounds, 5 shillings]

To enable John [Sumner?] to remove his } House - 10 " " [10 pounds]

To pay W.B. Clark's account of } funeral articles &c &c 27 " 3 " 2 [27 pounds, 3 shillings, 2 pence] [sum underlined]

£ 135. 18 " 2 [135 pounds, 18 shillings, 2 pence]

Signed in my presence } being first [read?] & explained [S. Waldron?] [Missionary?]

[In.?] Council at Sarnia this [28th?] day of July [1857?] David B. Wawanosh H.C. Joshua Wawanosh [image: handwritten symbol of 2 parallel horizontal lines ending in arcs on the right side, with 2 short lines sticking out in the middle of each side] Johnston [Waupaligais?] [image: handwritten symbol of 2 parallel horizontal lines ending in arcs on the right side, with a vertical line crossing them in the middle}

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
37
Needs Review

Copy of [requisition?] for £135"18"2 [135 pounds, 18 shillings, 2 pence]

[2 houses?] 1 yk [yoke] of oxen &c &c

[July?] 28. [1857?]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
38
Needs Review

No 1

Chippewas of Sarnia Account-- Current from [Apl?] {April?] 1. 1856 To [Apl?] [April?] 1. 1857

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
39
Needs Review

[Dr?] The Indian Department in account [with the Chippewas of Sarnia] [heading continues on next page]

1856

[Ap?] [April?] 1 Balance from last year 711 2 7 [711 pounds, 2 shillings, 7 pence] 1857 [in left column} 2844 50 [$2,844.50] [in right column] Annuity for the year ending the [Apl?] 1 31st March 1857. 750 " " [750 pounds] [$3000 written over the " "]

£ 1461 2 7 [1,461 pounds, 2 shillings, 7 pence] [bottom of right column] $5844 50 [bottom of right column]

Amount of money arising from the sale of a [portion?] of the Sarnia Reserve, [invested?] for the benefit of the Band up to the 31st March 1856. was £ 10,300 - and the balance of £269.1.0 [269 pounds, 1 shilling] was [distributed?] on the 7 May 1857.

Amount invested $ 45,200

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
40
Needs Review

[ The Indian Department in account] with The Chippewas of Sarnia [heading continues from previous page] [Cr?] 1856

[Apl?] 9 Dr Johnston Medicines [/c?] [&c?] to 31 Mar 1856 11 10 6 [11 pounds, 10 shillings, 6 pence] $[26?5?] [written underneath pound amount in right column]

June 27 W.B. Clark for Building Materials [/c?] [&c?] 148 19 11 [148 pounds, 19 shillings, 11 pence] $596 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

July 4 William Wawanosh salary as Teacher to 30 June 9 7 6 [9 pounds, 7 shillings, 6 pence] $37 50 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

9 [Distributed?] to the Band by Supt. Talfourd 256 [2?] 3 [256 pounds, 2? shillings, 3 pence] 1024 [$1,024] [written underneath pound amount in right column]

Oct 10 Dr Johnston for Medicines [/c?] [&c?] to Sep 30. 16 3 10 [16 pounds, 3 shillings, 10 pence] $6[4?] [written underneath pound amount in right column]

11 Salary to Chief Joshua Wawanosh to Sep 30 31 5 . [31 pounds, 5 shillings] $125 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

" Salary to Chief David Wawanosh " " 12 10 . [12 pounds, 10 shillings] $50

" [Wm?] Wawanosh Salary as Teacher to " " 9 7 6 [9 pounds, 7 shillings, 6 pence] $37 50 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

To pay for completing Log houses 162 10 . $650 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

To pay [Sawl?] Hitchcock for [two seines?] 33 15 . [33 pounds, 15 shillings] $125 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

1857

[Jany?] 8 [Wm?] Wawanosh Salary as Teacher to [Decr?] 31. 9 7 6 [9 pounds, 7 shillings, 6 pence] 37 50 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

28 To pay R & H McKenzie for Coffins 6 15 . [6 pounds, 15 shillings] $27 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

Mar 20 Subscription to [Industrial?] School 187 10 . [187 pounds, 10 shillings] $750 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

" To pay Aged and infirm persons 81 5 . [81 pounds, 5 shillings] $325 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

28 Salary to Chief Joshua Wawanosh to 31 Mar 31 5 . [31 pounds, 5 shillings] $125 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

" Interest allowance to D [Wawanosh?] " " 50 . . [50 pounds] $200

" Interest allowance to Peter Salt 12 10 .[12 pounds, 10 shillings] $$50

" [Wm?] M Cooley Salary as Teacher to " " 9 7 6 [9 pounds, 7 shillings, 6 pence] [amount underlined to indicate end of column] $37 50 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

£ 1079 11 6 [1,079 pounds, 11 shillings, 6 pence] [at bottom of right column] $4318.15 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

[Bal?] [Balance?] $1522.35 [in?] the [hands?] of the Department.

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
41
Needs Review

Saugatuck Mich 6/4 1900

Mrs D. B Wawanosh

[Kaw?a?lin?] [mill?] madam I wish you let me know what you are bout [about] to do I Have ben [been] waiting for you a month and now I would like to Have you explain why you are keeping the petition for so long

Here I Have a [Attorny?] [attorney?] [wanting?] [for] [inserted] those papers which He is from Washington I have told you what to do and I [cant?] [can't?] do [no?] more and I want you to let me know by return mail what way this is to be done by law or what I Have ben [been?] good [nuf?] [enough?] to send you the petition to sign I did not want you to [keep?] it to look at as show to all the Indians in the State you mite [might?] know every Indian seeing those papers will say I am [one] [inserted] of that band you will find [thim?] [them?] here just: the same as you say they is lots of [hiers?] [heirs?] there and I can find lots of signers Here but they are not wanted at Washington which they [have?] got they have got every Indian name there and what band he [be long] [belong] that is what has raised such a fus [fuss] at Chicago [cause?] [because?] every Indian said he he was the real [hier?] [heir?] to that property now I gess [guess] they will have to waite [wait] a while yours truly

John [Wawagon?]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
42
Needs Review

Saugatuck Mich May 27th 1900

Mrs D. B Wawanosh

[of?] yours was recived [received] the 22 [cnd?] [22nd?]

in your Reply bout [about?] what way I am to do buisness [business?] all I want you to do sign the petition and if you have any sisters and brothers all so [also] let them sign not by every body [everybody] now my children [cant?] [can't?] sign those paper [papers] or my wife

if you let any out side [outside] party sign those papers you shell [shall] [have? crossed-out] be held responsible if rejected at Washington every person sign give one dollar and if you can find the real heirs to this claim let them sign children not alowed [allowed]

I want to do what right by you or I would not have hunted you up they told me not to have any thing [anything] to do [any] [crossed out] with one living in Canada maby [maybe?] you want to help those Indians at [Athens?] if so let me know at once cause they are after the same property and those papers aughto [ought to] ben [have been?] in Washington

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
43
Needs Review

by the first of June but you have delayed me very near month the petition aughto [ought to] enter the indian department the first sure cause [because] Coungress [Congress] will be through by June for some time now so [please?] get through as soon as you can

if I hade [had] money I would come my self [myself] as I am just like the rest of the Indians I have not got [nuf?] [enough?] money to spar [spare?] mony [money] is very scarce just now

now I have told you all

please send the petition as soon as you can

your [yours] truly

John Wawagon

Saugatuck Mich

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
Displaying pages 21 - 30 of 40 in total