Wawanosh Family

Pages That Need Review

Wawanosh Sands Mern_fonds_Series 1 correspondence File 2

37
Needs Review

Copy of [requisition?] for £135"18"2 [135 pounds, 18 shillings, 2 pence]

[2 houses?] 1 yk [yoke] of oxen &c &c

[July?] 28. [1857?]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
38
Needs Review

No 1

Chippewas of Sarnia Account-- Current from [Apl?] {April?] 1. 1856 To [Apl?] [April?] 1. 1857

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
39
Needs Review

[Dr?] The Indian Department in account [with the Chippewas of Sarnia] [heading continues on next page]

1856

[Ap?] [April?] 1 Balance from last year 711 2 7 [711 pounds, 2 shillings, 7 pence] 1857 [in left column} 2844 50 [$2,844.50] [in right column] Annuity for the year ending the [Apl?] 1 31st March 1857. 750 " " [750 pounds] [$3000 written over the " "]

£ 1461 2 7 [1,461 pounds, 2 shillings, 7 pence] [bottom of right column] $5844 50 [bottom of right column]

Amount of money arising from the sale of a [portion?] of the Sarnia Reserve, [invested?] for the benefit of the Band up to the 31st March 1856. was £ 10,300 - and the balance of £269.1.0 [269 pounds, 1 shilling] was [distributed?] on the 7 May 1857.

Amount invested $ 45,200

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
40
Needs Review

[ The Indian Department in account] with The Chippewas of Sarnia [heading continues from previous page] [Cr?] 1856

[Apl?] 9 Dr Johnston Medicines [/c?] [&c?] to 31 Mar 1856 11 10 6 [11 pounds, 10 shillings, 6 pence] $[26?5?] [written underneath pound amount in right column]

June 27 W.B. Clark for Building Materials [/c?] [&c?] 148 19 11 [148 pounds, 19 shillings, 11 pence] $596 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

July 4 William Wawanosh salary as Teacher to 30 June 9 7 6 [9 pounds, 7 shillings, 6 pence] $37 50 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

9 [Distributed?] to the Band by Supt. Talfourd 256 [2?] 3 [256 pounds, 2? shillings, 3 pence] 1024 [$1,024] [written underneath pound amount in right column]

Oct 10 Dr Johnston for Medicines [/c?] [&c?] to Sep 30. 16 3 10 [16 pounds, 3 shillings, 10 pence] $6[4?] [written underneath pound amount in right column]

11 Salary to Chief Joshua Wawanosh to Sep 30 31 5 . [31 pounds, 5 shillings] $125 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

" Salary to Chief David Wawanosh " " 12 10 . [12 pounds, 10 shillings] $50

" [Wm?] Wawanosh Salary as Teacher to " " 9 7 6 [9 pounds, 7 shillings, 6 pence] $37 50 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

To pay for completing Log houses 162 10 . $650 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

To pay [Sawl?] Hitchcock for [two seines?] 33 15 . [33 pounds, 15 shillings] $125 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

1857

[Jany?] 8 [Wm?] Wawanosh Salary as Teacher to [Decr?] 31. 9 7 6 [9 pounds, 7 shillings, 6 pence] 37 50 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

28 To pay R & H McKenzie for Coffins 6 15 . [6 pounds, 15 shillings] $27 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

Mar 20 Subscription to [Industrial?] School 187 10 . [187 pounds, 10 shillings] $750 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

" To pay Aged and infirm persons 81 5 . [81 pounds, 5 shillings] $325 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

28 Salary to Chief Joshua Wawanosh to 31 Mar 31 5 . [31 pounds, 5 shillings] $125 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

" Interest allowance to D [Wawanosh?] " " 50 . . [50 pounds] $200

" Interest allowance to Peter Salt 12 10 .[12 pounds, 10 shillings] $$50

" [Wm?] M Cooley Salary as Teacher to " " 9 7 6 [9 pounds, 7 shillings, 6 pence] [amount underlined to indicate end of column] $37 50 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

£ 1079 11 6 [1,079 pounds, 11 shillings, 6 pence] [at bottom of right column] $4318.15 [written underneath pound amount in right column]

[Bal?] [Balance?] $1522.35 [in?] the [hands?] of the Department.

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
41
Needs Review

Saugatuck Mich 6/4 1900

Mrs D. B Wawanosh

[Kaw?a?lin?] [mill?] madam I wish you let me know what you are bout [about] to do I Have ben [been] waiting for you a month and now I would like to Have you explain why you are keeping the petition for so long

Here I Have a [Attorny?] [attorney?] [wanting?] [for] [inserted] those papers which He is from Washington I have told you what to do and I [cant?] [can't?] do [no?] more and I want you to let me know by return mail what way this is to be done by law or what I Have ben [been?] good [nuf?] [enough?] to send you the petition to sign I did not want you to [keep?] it to look at as show to all the Indians in the State you mite [might?] know every Indian seeing those papers will say I am [one] [inserted] of that band you will find [thim?] [them?] here just: the same as you say they is lots of [hiers?] [heirs?] there and I can find lots of signers Here but they are not wanted at Washington which they [have?] got they have got every Indian name there and what band he [be long] [belong] that is what has raised such a fus [fuss] at Chicago [cause?] [because?] every Indian said he he was the real [hier?] [heir?] to that property now I gess [guess] they will have to waite [wait] a while yours truly

John [Wawagon?]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
42
Needs Review

Saugatuck Mich May 27th 1900

Mrs D. B Wawanosh

[of?] yours was recived [received] the 22 [cnd?] [22nd?]

in your Reply bout [about?] what way I am to do buisness [business?] all I want you to do sign the petition and if you have any sisters and brothers all so [also] let them sign not by every body [everybody] now my children [cant?] [can't?] sign those paper [papers] or my wife

if you let any out side [outside] party sign those papers you shell [shall] [have? crossed-out] be held responsible if rejected at Washington every person sign give one dollar and if you can find the real heirs to this claim let them sign children not alowed [allowed]

I want to do what right by you or I would not have hunted you up they told me not to have any thing [anything] to do [any] [crossed out] with one living in Canada maby [maybe?] you want to help those Indians at [Athens?] if so let me know at once cause they are after the same property and those papers aughto [ought to] ben [have been?] in Washington

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
43
Needs Review

by the first of June but you have delayed me very near month the petition aughto [ought to] enter the indian department the first sure cause [because] Coungress [Congress] will be through by June for some time now so [please?] get through as soon as you can

if I hade [had] money I would come my self [myself] as I am just like the rest of the Indians I have not got [nuf?] [enough?] money to spar [spare?] mony [money] is very scarce just now

now I have told you all

please send the petition as soon as you can

your [yours] truly

John Wawagon

Saugatuck Mich

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
44
Needs Review

To the [Hon.?] Commissioner of Indian Affairs -- Washington, D.C.

We the undersigned Pottawatamie Indians now residing in the State of Mich [Michigan], and descendents [descendants] of the Indian chief [Tonquish?], do hereby respectfully petition to you to take the necessary steps, and to do whatever [may?] be necessary in the matter to secure to them, said descendants of said Pottawatamie = Chief, and Indians of the Pottawatamie nation of Indians under articles of treaty made and concluded November 17th [A.?]D. 1807 and found on page 192 of the revision and [compiclation?] [compilation?] of all the treaties between the United States and the Indian[s] [crossed out] tribes in the year A.D. 1873. We the undersigned claim that we are entitled as such descendants of said [Tonquish?] and of said Pottawatamie[s?] [crossed out] tribe of Indians the annuity of four hundred dollars forever as provided by the latter part of Article two of said treaty first above reffered [referred] to,

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
45
Needs Review

and that we have by treaty with the United States and Pottawatamie Indians made September 19th [A.?] D. 1827, an interest and equity in the lands reserved for the use of the Pottawatamie tribe of Indians as described on page 675 of the revision and compilation of treaties above refered [referred] to, commencing at [time?] [crossed out] line 30169, and ending at line 30191.

Dated March 22nd 1900,

Witnesses [left column]

William Sha Sha [gwa?] [Wm?] Cowtuckmuck J M [Goriden?] -- Mary Green her mark X Mrs D.B.W.

Signers [right column]

John [Wawogon?] Nancy[?gns?] Alex his Pokagon X mark Soloman James -- X Ku mah we. X [Becca?] [Shaa Trah?]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
46
Needs Review

INDIAN AGENT'S OFFICE, [printed by printing press]

Chippewa Hill Nov 23rd 1915

Sir,--

Adam [M.?] [Kiyoshk?] Esq [Esquire] Amherstburg Ont

Dear Sir

receved [received] yours of Nov 19th and can inform you that Mrs Arthur [Kiyoshk?] receved [received] the suit-case and Sailors bag that you [expressed?] to her and I am somewhat surprised that she did not inform you that she receved [received] them but I think that sometimes she forgets as she felt so bad but I think after a while she will be glad if you can come and visit her for a while it will pass the time for both of you I am sure you must have got a great shock and I do not wonder as it was a shock to myself poor fellow I will be glad to see you and get more particulars about him

with kindest regards to you I remain your truly

T.A Stout Indian Agent Chippawa Hill Ont

P. S I am going over to see chief and tell him that you [were?] [inquiring?] about him

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
Displaying pages 31 - 40 of 40 in total