Woodrow Wilson Papers Microfilm Reels

Pages That Need Review

Microfilm Reel 229, File 152, "African Americans"

749
Needs Review

749

LEADING NEGRO NEWSPAPER HAS LARGEST CIRCULATION

SUBCRIPTION PRICE

1 Year - - $1.50 [1 Year] Canada - 2.00 [1 Year] Foreign - 2.50 6 Months - - 1.00 3 [Months] .60 Single Copy - .05

THE NEW YORK AGE

PUBLISHED WEEKLY BY FRED R. MOORE 247 WEST 46TH STREET TELEPHONE 3815 BRYANT

[Stamp = THE WHITE HOUSE MAR 26 1913 RECEIVED]

NEW YORK CITY March 25, 1913.

Hon. Joseph P[.?] Tumulty,

Washington, D. C.

Dear Sir:-

Although I voted for the re-election of Mr. Taft at the last Presidential election 1 desire to extend to President Wilson, through you, my best wishes for a highly successful administration. I take it that the welfare of the United States is not to be viewed from a partisan standpoint, for all of us- Republicans, Democrats and Progressives- will be equally benefited if the next four years, under Mr. Wilson's guidance, are prosperous and the integrity of this great Nation is maintained both at home and abroad.

One of the most serious problems confronting the American people to-day is the so-called Negro problem. Of course, there would be no such problem if many of our white citizens would look conditions squarely in the face and show a more christian-like spirit toward a weaker and a struggling race- a people who have done much by their sweat and labor to make the United States the commercial factor it is to-day; neither would so much race hatred exist if the white press would tell the public more about our virtues rather than of our vices. Millions of white citizens are educated by the newspapers to regard the Negro in an improper light because of sensational articles which reflect discredit instead of credit on us. As to out great progress, despite odds, the papers publish but little.

It is unfortunate that the entire race has to shoulder the blame for those who are so unfortunate to commit acts of indiscretion, and why ten million of Negroes should be censured whenever one of that number is guilty of wrong-doing is a bit of philosophy many of us are unable to understand.

In the mad rush for political jobs now going on I hope President Wilson will not overlook the Negro. While he has not made public his policy relative to the appointment of Negroes to office it is hoped that he will investigate fully the character as well as fitness of the applicant; for it cannot be denied that Mr. Taft's Negro appointees were men of high

83427

Last edit about 3 years ago by nalhamad
750
Needs Review

750

LEADING NEGRO NEWSPAPER HAS LARGEST CIRCULATION

SUBCRIPTION PRICE

1 Year - - $1.50 [1 Year] Canada - 2.00 [1 Year] Foreign - 2.50 6 Months - - 1.00 3 [Months] .60 Single Copy - .05

THE NEW YORK AGE

PUBLISHED WEEKLY BY FRED R. MOORE 247 WEST 46TH STREET TELEPHONE 3815 BRYANT

NEW VORK CITY

character, whose records in office were A1.

The race, as a whole, is not so deeply concerned in the question of the appointment of Negroes to office as it is the attitude President Wilson will assume- whether he will give a helping hand to a struggling people or whether he will co-operate with those who believe that it is humane and American to do all in their power to keep the Negro down, thereby hindering the progress of the Nation. I can assure you that the race is more interested in the enforcement of laws which guarantee the Negro all rights and privileges under the Constitution of the United States; more interested in Federal action with a view to stamping out mob law which has been responsible for the murder of hundreds of Negroes, many of whom were innocent, than political positions.

I hope you will pardon me for writing such a lengthy letter, but it is a fact that the Negro citizens are solicitous about President Wilson's attitude toward them. Already there are ominous sounds coming from certain law-makers, who are so seriously afflicted with "Negrophobia" that they spend most of their time introducing anti-Negro legislation. It is hoped that President Wilson will not be swayed from his resolution to be just to all mankind by these iconoclats of the Constitution, who if allowed to do as their diseased minds thought best, would bring about chaos and anarchy.

Trusting that you will fill the duties of Secretary to the President with the same degree of efficiency as characterized your work at Trenton, I am,

Respectfully, Lester A Walton Managing Eaitor.

83428

Last edit about 3 years ago by nalhamad
751
Needs Review

751

"MAKE THE NEGRO VOTE A FACTOR"

HEADQUARTERS OF THE NATIONAL COLORED DEMOCRATIC LEAGUE

1022 U STREET, NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D. C.

President Alexander Walters New York

First Vice President John W. Ross New York

Second Vice President A. E. Manning Indiana

Third Vice President James L. Curtis New York

Fourth Vice President J. T. Green Georgia

Corresponding Secretary Charles L. Barnes Pennsylvania

Recording Secretary Peter J. Smith Massachusetts

Treassurer James T. Lloyd Missouri

Assistant Treasurer Jas. H. W. Howard Pennsylvants

National Organizer N. B. Marshall New York

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Jas. H. W. Howard, Pa Chairman

Alexander Walters, N. Y. Arthur W. Branham, Ia. Francis H. Warren, Mich. S. Douglass Russell, Okla. George C. Clement, N.C. Allan A. D'Honey, W. Va. N.B. Clark, Va. Sully Jaymes. O. Alfred B. Cosey. N.J. H. J. Brown, Md. Leon H. Jordan, Mo. Wesley L. Young, N.Y. W. T. Scott, Ill. R. W. Williams, Ky. J.T. Green, Ga. A. H. Underdown, Wash.D.C. A. E. Manning, Ind. John H. Slaughter, Wis. Peter J. Smith, Mass.

[STAMP = THE WHITE HOUSE MAR 27 1913 RECEIVED]

[STAMP = ACK'D MAR 27 1913 O.T.H.]

March 27, 1913.

His Excellency,

Woodrow Wilson,

President of the United States.

Dear Sir:-

Enclosed please find a copy of Resolutions passed at the conference of The National Colored Democratic League,held in this city March 5-7, 1913.

Very respectfully,

Alexander Walters pen [?]

83429

Last edit about 3 years ago by nalhamad
752
Needs Review

752

"MAKE THE NEGRO VOTE A FACTOR"

HEADQUARTERS OF THE NATIONAL COLORED DEMOCRATIC LEAGUE

1022 U STREET, NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D. C.

President Alexander Walters New York

First Vice President John W. Ross New York

Second Vice President A. E. Manning Indiana

Third Vice President James L. Curtis New York

Fourth Vice President J. T. Green Georgia

Corresponding Secretary Charles L. Barnes Pennsylvania

Recording Secretary Peter J. Smith Massachusetts

Treassurer James T. Lloyd Missouri

Assistant Treasurer Jas. H. W. Howard Pennsylvants

National Organizer N. B. Marshall New York

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Jas. H. W. Howard, Pa Chairman

Alexander Walters, N. Y. Arthur W. Branham, Ia. Francis H. Warren, Mich. S. Douglass Russell, Okla. George C. Clement, N.C. Allan A. D'Honey, W. Va. N.B. Clark, Va. Sully Jaymes. O. Alfred B. Cosey. N.J. H. J. Brown, Md. Leon H. Jordan, Mo. Wesley L. Young, N.Y. W. T. Scott, Ill. R. W. Williams, Ky. J.T. Green, Ga. A. H. Underdown, Wash.D.C. A. E. Manning, Ind. John H. Slaughter, Wis. Peter J. Smith, Mass.

RESOLUTIONS OF THE NATIONAL COLORED DEMOCRATIC LERGUE.

Adopted at Washington, D. C. ,March 5, 1913.

The National Colored Democratic League, in convention assembled in the city of Washington, D.C., re-affirming its confidence in President Wil- son, congratulates the nation upon his induction into office.

The problems of social reform, which have hung like a pall over the nation for sixteen years, demand a man, broad of soul, and firm of purpose. We believe that in President Wilson, the country has an executive who will apply to all questions, the fundimental and eternal precepts of justice, regardless of the arrogant assumptions of wealth, or the false traditions of privilege.

We believe the President's address to be an inspiration, for it allays the fears of all dependent peoples, engenders hope in the breasts of all de oppressed citizens under our flag, and admonishes and reminds the dominent race of its responsibilities as citizens of this great republic.

The tone of the inaugural address re-essures us as Negroes, that our President will carry out all the prom[i]ses made before election, and we confidently expect the Democratic Congress to answer the President's appeal to carry out his humantarian program, by refusing to consider any legislation tending to humiliate or insult any part of the nation's citizenship.

We re-affirm our declaration that the National Democratic party offers to the colored citizens of the nation an opportunity to conserve their politicel and civil rights and immunities comprised in that inconquerable production of Thomas Jefferson, the Decleration of Independence.

WE HEREBY APPEAL TO THE COLORED VOTERS OF THE COUNTRY FOR THEIR SUPPORT AND ESPOUSAL OF THE CAUSE OF DEMOCRACY IN THE EXERCISE OF THEIR FRANCHISE.

All great political and social movements must have leadership, and

83430

Last edit about 3 years ago by nalhamad
753
Needs Review

753

"MAKE THE NEGRO VOTE A FACTOR"

HEADQUARTERS OF THE NATIONAL COLORED DEMOCRATIC LEAGUE

1022 U STREET, NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D. C.

President Alexander Walters New York

First Vice President John W. Ross New York

Second Vice President A. E. Manning Indiana

Third Vice President James L. Curtis New York

Fourth Vice President J. T. Green Georgia

Corresponding Secretary Charles L. Barnes Pennsylvania

Recording Secretary Peter J. Smith Massachusetts

Treassurer James T. Lloyd Missouri

Assistant Treasurer Jas. H. W. Howard Pennsylvants

National Organizer N. B. Marshall New York

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Jas. H. W. Howard, Pa Chairman

Alexander Walters, N. Y. Arthur W. Branham, Ia. Francis H. Warren, Mich. S. Douglass Russell, Okla. George C. Clement, N.C. Allan A. D'Honey, W. Va. N.B. Clark, Va. Sully Jaymes. O. Alfred B. Cosey. N.J. H. J. Brown, Md. Leon H. Jordan, Mo. Wesley L. Young, N.Y. W. T. Scott, Ill. R. W. Williams, Ky. J.T. Green, Ga. A. H. Underdown, Wash.D.C. A. E. Manning, Ind. John H. Slaughter, Wis. Peter J. Smith, Mass.

2.

the National Colored Democratic League is fortunate in having at its head, Bishop Alexander Walters, a man who has devoted his entire life to the highest interest of his race and country.

Nepoleon B. Marshall, N.Y. S. Douglass Russell, Okla. Charles B. Stimpson, N.Y. George C. Clement, D.D.,N.C. Edwerd B. Terry, M.D., N.J.

Committee on Resolutions.

83431

Last edit about 3 years ago by nalhamad
754
Needs Review

754

NOTARY PUBLIC

W. Calvin Chase Attorney and Counsellor at Law 1109 EYE STREET. N.W. TELEPHONE. MAIN 4078

EDITOR "THE BEE"

[STAMP = ACK'D MAR 31 1913 J.W.H.]

Washington, D.C. March 29th,1913. 19

[STAMP = THE WHITE HOUSE, MAR 30 1913 RECEIVED]

Hon. Woodrow Wilson, The White House, Washington, D.C.

Dear Mr. President:

We wrote you some weeks before your inauguration asking if members of the race in whose interest this newepaper is published might be benefited by your reputed policy to re¬ cognisedmerit and efficiency. Mr. Tumulty replied that our letter would be brought to your attention. Further than this we have heard nothing. Is it true Mr. President, that color is to be the primary cause for the displacement of Negroes from office no matter how efficient, and that color will be the effectual bar to appointment to office of men whom God created with a darker skin than yours? There appears to be a generally accepted belief, prompted by statements from those closest to you, that Negro office-holders will be quickly displaced, and that the door of hope is to be closed to the race by your administration. This newspaper asks nothing at your hands for its editor and proprietor, but we do ask something for our race--simply fair consideration at your hands. We ask this because we are American citizens taxed the same rate as white citizens, and amendable to the same laws which govern the whites. We were lead to believe that your high christian character would assure us equity. We hope, Mr. President, you will give the race substantial encouragement rather than discouragement. There are ten millions

83432

Last edit about 3 years ago by nalhamad
755
Needs Review

755

NOTARY PUBLIC

W. Calvin Chase Attorney and Counsellor at Law 1109 EYE STREET. N.W. TELEPHONE. MAIN 4078

EDITOR "THE BEE"

Washington, D.C. March 29th,1913. 19

(2)

of us to help make the country better. Can you give my race reason to hope, and hoping can we expect to realise our hopes

for fair representation under your administration? We trust you will deal equitable with the ten million Negroes.

Respectfully,

The Washington Bee,

W. Calvin Chase Editor and Prop.

83433

Last edit about 3 years ago by nalhamad
756
Needs Review

756

[stamp: ACK'D APR1 1913 C.T.H.]

152

[stamp: THE WHITE HOUSE APR 1913 RECEIVED]

Washington, D.C. 612 F St. N. W. March 31, 1913.

To the President of the Uncted States.

Sir:

Heretofore, as indicated by your letters to me dated July 11, September 5 and November 27 1912, it has been my privilege to invite your attention to one of the largest unsolved problems pending before the American electorate, to wit: the negro question.

It has been transmitted from generation to generation as an unsettled questions and meets the threshold of your Administiation as a legacy from former Administrations that treated the matter inefficiently.

That the matter is of practical and increasing importance appears from the fact that there were in the Federal Service September 1,1912 22,440 members of this race drawing annual salaries aggregating 12,456,760 (See p.13 "The Republican Party and the Afro-American - A Look of Facts and Figures" by Cyrus Field Adams" issued by the Republican National Committee 1712).

Will your Administration leave this subject where it finds it? Or will genuine efforts be made, under your guidance, to affect permanent settlement thereof?

the 14th and 15th Amendments to the Federal Constitution, whereon the claims of the Afro-Americans are based, have never been tested as to their validity and it can only be by testing these Amendments that this problem can be solved.

If the corperation of your Administration could be obtained to achieve the end, outlined in H.J.R.41-62d Congress, I could indicate to you a practical manner of presenting such a test. 83434

Last edit about 3 years ago by Harpwench
757
Needs Review

757

As a result of many years' study of this question I have compiled valuable data indispensable to the presentation of a fair test, which are hereby placed at your disposal.

I remain with great respect yours J. H. Adridane

Adriaans

Last edit about 3 years ago by Harpwench
758
Needs Review

758

COX, Maj. W. C., Washington, D. C. April 8, 1913.

Asks for contribution from the President to help defray expenses of celebration of Emancipation Day by the Emancipation Historical Association.

See Emancipation Historical Association.

xxx

152

83435

Last edit about 3 years ago by Harpwench
Displaying pages 31 - 40 of 1876 in total