Anthony W. Wilkinson Letter Collection

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

T2020.102.215

1
Needs Review

1

Mon. 2:30 PM

Dearest Family: waited until I heard from Coop before I wrote, so will make a fast trip to the sub PO (about 3-1/2 miles to mail this and card to his folks). Was written enroute over very beautiful scenrty in hi Rockies, so still no word as to if or when I may join him inEdmonton.Should have word tho by Wed. at least as to the possibilites, and he still hoped if I can makeit Sis mite drive it with me..otherwise I may store car, ship Muffin by rail(which mite kill her) and go rail myself to save that drive back in wintertime. No one to takehouse yet so in quandry to pack and store at own expense or close it up and wait until someone wants it..quite certain Coop will get 30 days or more in Jan. or Feb. before overseas. Will let you know all detail as soon as I learn them. Hope all improved andreally kicking. Our fall wea. perfect..in fact too hot for this time of year, but I love it. By now, Love and Kisses

The Widder, Cat and Dorg

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV

T2020.102.217

1
Needs Review

1

23 June

Dearest Family, Hope to leave here Tues. & arrive home 28th or 29th. Anxious to leave, tho fishing has been good! Just wish we had some of them in our ref. and some in yours too. Hope by now you have your new ref. & are well pleased - also that you sold the old one for even $10.00 for as you said: the market is loaded with used "ref." The wea. has turned cooler - wish it would stay this way for our return trip.

Shall give you details of visit & trip later - too much confusion to even think! Trust all well at 577. Love & kisses to all - The Kids

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire

T2020.102.218

1
Needs Review

1

Searcy, Arkansas December 2, 1952 Dearest Parents: Has winter been stealing around the corner out your way? We had a beautiful snow preceeded and followed by good rains. Have had so much moisture the past ten days. It has remained dry for so long we just won't allow ourselves to complain. We did have a lovely Thanksgiving Day. Our people were wonderful to us. One brought two cakes, two quarts of home-canned, sweetened peaches, and a fat hen. another brought a fruit-cake, 2 pies, 6 pts. of home-canned fruit, jelly & vegetables, & a squirrel. A new convert bought a most delicious [ ?] apple-sauce, spice cake & we had a delicious meal. We are in a revival meeting, so the evangelistic wife made a crispy, vegetable salad and the dressing for the hen. I made the "dumps", mashed the potatoes and cooked fresh greens, & we were all set! Sunday, the 30th, was Ray's 50th birthday. One lady ordered our city baker to deliver a gorgeous birth-day cake, with "Happy 4. Well, now, don't feel you have it all to do, as a way is always made for God's children - if not through one channel, another is opened. Thurs. Dec. 4th Ronnies cute P. J's . came to-day. I guess he really likes his candy best - but, Dorothy & I were delighted over his sleeping garments. They fit perfectly - only a bit long, which is an excellent fault this time of the year. May God bless you! Our revival still in progress. God has given us an excellent evangelist, wish you could "listen in" on his wonderful message. We all need more of the Word. Do trust Harold won't be sent out of W. S. A. There is enough uncertainty here, but it is multiplied outside our borders. Now I long for Jesus to come and "catch His bride away." May God keep His hand on the kids! I wish I knew that they were both really saved and ready for the Lord's return. I can't bear anyone I love being lost! We need to be praying much! Dearest love & many X's - Helen

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
2
Needs Review

2

Birthday [Bro. Sull" ?] on it, & the lovliest roses & decorations I've ever seen. It was truly pretty. She scolded me for not letting her know about my birthday. One sister brought 2 qts. of fresh, frozen strawberries from her locker and a sack of her home-grown sweet potatoes or yams. A couple from the country brought fresh pork & a dozen eggs & another brought eggs, too. To-night before service a sister came in with a quart of home-made apple-jelly. A little before the revival one couple came with a pumpkin & a quart of canned "coon". She is always bringing a piece of cake, half a pie, a whole pie, or something. Our evangelist and his wife gave me a lovely birthday greeting and a dollar bill. So - Dorothy and I shopped! Ray gave me some, also, so I got a very nice slip with my $$$'s. Perhaps you feel, by now, your lovely desire to slip into our Searcy home with a beautifully lighted cake & a little paddle would have been superflous. May be so, but how happy it would have made us all. My "paddlings" are sadly in arrears, so, even that diversion would have fitted into the program. I guess our Ronnie boy, in-asmuch as he has grown so tall, is the main one on the Christmas list. He has outgrown almost all of his clothes. We found ages - sizes vary amazingly when we shopped for him. In the corduroy overalls, some 3 yr. sizes were too short, others just right, or others too long. You check the clothing if you buy, by laying them on each other. He was only 2 in October but in most cases he takes a 3 & in others he takes a 4 yr. He takes a 6 1/2 sock. He has outgrown under-shirts & needs panties - man style! Dorothy daily looks for some encouragement of support for her babies, but none has come so far. I hardly know about Dorothy's needs. Perhaps anklets, panties, & a nice slip. My birthday slippers you sent when in Arizona, are nearly gone. Oh, yes, our cozy gowns are down to one each!

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire

T2020.102.219

1
Needs Review

1

5:00 P.M Mon.

Dearest Mom n' Pop - A hurried note before eating dinner & then the job of repacking cases have to be ready by 6 AM in the morning. I leave at 8:30. Alice will be allowed to see the ship sail which will be more fun for us both. Sent Muffin by plane today. $32.96 but I think it will be worth it. Coop will pick her up about 9:00 tonite in Anchorage! Against 3 or 4 days ocean & 8-12 hrs aboard train. All mail rec'd so far including the $5 & Alices birthday care. Keep well and don't worry. Love "The Sisters"

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire

T2020.102.220

1
Needs Review

1

Thurs AM

Dearest Family, another Thurs. & another week most gone. Thanks for letter, clipping, etc. Glad Sis had a nice trip to San D. but sorry about the "car" worry. Would be a shame to have the old "red roller" fixed up at that expense & still be "old" - hope you can get a new one or nearly so. The payments 'shore hurt' but if it lasts you another 20 yrs. or so guess the hurt will be stretched too!! Please send Helen's address. Want to send her a birth day card & letter, at least, & Thanksgiving is just a week away & her birthday is on Fri. Our "heat wave" is over & the temp has dropped below 32° again, but also the 4 foggy day are gone & brilliant sun & moonlite. A smidge of snow & frost on the ground.

Love to All - Coop, Muffin & me

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire

T2020.102.221

1
Needs Review

1

Thur. 11th

Precious Parents;

We will be here in Peshartin, Wash., for 2 weeks or longer. Be sure to write us soon, won't you?

It is so lovely & cool. Peshartin is a quiet little town in a most beautiful pine-tree covered canyon, where people make their living ranching, fruit growing, & logging. A large sawmill is right here in town on Wenatchee River.

God bless you & the girls.

Much love - Helen & Rango

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV

T2020.102.222

1
Needs Review

1

10:30 AM. Tues. Dear Ones -

P.S. Don't send sub. to mag. - at least until we move on the base (if & when). Also no Xmas gifts. We owe you so much & hope to soon start paying back a few loans. - Oh! missed mailman - shall mail this now on Wed. Got to a low of 10° last nite instead of 15° & is now only 23°, but that sun feels & looks so good. Shall give info on furniture & foot lockers later. Only Dad, don't trim 'em in a soft wood; make it a good hard wood - details later. Even corneres bent on the soft trim.

XXX

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire

T2020.102.223

1
Needs Review

1

7-1-53 9:30 am

"Dear ones at Home" -

Eureka - & still a-goin. Slept last nite at Pepperwood Nice place & Muffin had a good run. This am is bright fog - Hope for sun later. Cooked our own supper last nite. Made sandwiches for lunch today. Wonderful trip & no trouble whatsoever. Thoroughly enjoyed the Redwoods. All three - are "fit a fiddles." Any better would need a doctor. Hope you both are feeling better. And getting rested. Alice is going thru the Trees of Mystery. I've been thru. Sun is coming out warm. Now 12:30. Love The Kids & Muffin

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire

T2020.102.224

1
Needs Review

1

Sun. aft.

Dearest folks, A note to let you know we're O.K. I leave Tues. am. Alice is staying until then to see me off. After that she doesn't know what she'll do.

Am sending Muffin by air line tomorrow. Will cost under $50.00, but will be worth it to me (& her).

Tomorrow is a busy day, ending about noon when the car is processed for overseas (won't go out tho for a week or so!)

Hope O.K. there.

Love,

Joe & Alice & Muffin

Last edit about 1 year ago by MyaFaire
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 224 in total