1871-1900 Yaquina Head Lighthouse Letter books

Pages That Need Review

Correspondence of LH board 1901-1910

64

64

Department of Commerce and Labor Lighthouse Estabishment

2 Inclosures Office of Engineer, 13th District Portland, Oreg.

June 1, 1906.

The Light-House Board, Washington, D. C.

Sirs: Referring to Board's letter of September 14, 1905, No. 1053, authorizing repairs to dwellings at Yaquina Head Light-Station, Oregon. I have the honor to state that sealed proposals were asked for furnishing necessary shingles. Only one proposal was received, that of the Nordby Lumber Co., in the sum of $95.50. As these shingles were desired at once I accepted the proposal and respectfully request the Board's approval of my action. The proposal received, together with abstract, are enlosed herewith.

Respectfully yours,

S. W. Roessler Lieut. Col., Corps of Engineers, U.S.A. Engineer 13th Light-House District

Last edit over 2 years ago by Ed
65

65

Department of Commerce and Labor Light-House Establishment

Office of Engineer,13th District Portland, Oreg.

April 22, 1905.

The Light-House Board, Washington, D. C.

Sirs: Replying to Board's letter of April 14, 1905, No.2169, regarding recommendation for an appropriation of $4000.00 for the construction of a keeper's dwelling at Yaquina Head Light-Station, Oregon, made in last annual report, we are of the opinion that an appropriation should be made for this purpose for the reasons heretofore given.

Respectfully yours,

L. Cokeluer ??? Commander, U.S. Navy Inspector 13th Light-House District

W. Claupfitt ??? Major, Corps of Engineers, U.S. A. Engineer 13th Lighthouse District

Last edit over 2 years ago by Ed
66

66

Department of Commerce and Labor Light-House Establishment

Office of Engineer,13th District Portland, Oreg.

April 22, 1905.

The Light-House Board, Washington, D. C.

Sirs: Replying to Board's letter of April 14, 1905, No. 2169, and referring to joint report of Inspector and Engineer of this District in response to same, as regards for an recommendation for an appropriation of $4000.00 for the construction of of a keeper's dwelling at Yaquina Head Light- Station, Oregon, I am of the opinion, from the cost of dwellings recently constructed at other stations in favorable localities, that the appropriation asked for should be increased to $5000.00 to cover increased cost of transportation and other expenses incident to the location.

Respectfully yours,

W Claupfitt ??? Major, Corps of Engineers, U.S. A. Engineer 13th Light-House District.

Last edit over 2 years ago by Ed
67

67

Department of Commerce and Labor Light-House Establishment

5 Inclosures. Office of Engineer, 13th District Portland, Oreg.

October 9, 1905.

The Light-House Board, Washington, D. C.

Sirs: Referring to Board's letter of September 14, 1905, No. 1053, authorizing repairs to dwelling at Yaquina Head Light-Station, Oregon, I have the honor to report that sealed proposals, after ten days notice, were asked for furnishing the necessary material. The proposal of Hirschberger & Sweeney of Portland, Oregon, in the sum of $131.00 being the lowest is recommended. Thte estimate of the Engineer for this work is $150.00. Owing to the smallness of the amount it is recommended that formality of contract be waived. The proposals received, together with abstract of same, are enclosed herewith.

Respectfully yours,

S.W. Roessler Major, Corps of Engineers, U.S.A., Engineer 13th Light-House District.

Last edit over 2 years ago by Ed
69

69

Department of Commerce and Labor Light-House Establishment

Office of Engineer, 13th District Portland, Oreg. September 8, 1905

The Light-House Board, Washington, D. C.

Sirs: I have the honor to report that the shingling, gutters and down spouts of the dwelling at Yaquina Head Light-Station, Oregon are in need of renewal. The estimated cost of this work is $455.00 per detailed estimate herewith. Authority is respectfully requested to carry out this work by hired labor and purchase of necessary materials under existing regulations. The cost to be paid from funds now on hand belonging to the appropriation, Repairs & Incidental Expenses of Light-Houses 1906. I hereby certify that, in my opinion this method is the most economical and advantageous to the Government.

Respectfully yours, S.W. Roessler Major, Corps of Engineers, U.S.A. Engineer 13th Light-House District

Last edit over 2 years ago by Ed
70

70

Deparment of Commerce and Labor LIGHT-HOUSE ESTABLISHMENT

OFFICE OF INSPECTOR, 13th District PORTLAND, OREG.

26 October, 1904

The Light-House Board, Washington.

Sirs. Referring to Department letter of 14 October, 1904, forwarded by Board on 18 October, 1904, File No. 1053, appointing Mr. Michael Ludescher as Second Assistant Keeper of Yaquina Head Light Station, Oregon, with pay at the rate of $550.00 per year, to take effect on 4 October, 1904, I have the honor to state that Mr. Ludescher entered duty on 13 September, 1904, as directed by my predecessor, Comdr. C. G. Calkins, U.S.N., therefore, I have to request that he receive a temporary appointment from the latter date to 3 October, 1904, inclusive.

Very respectfully, [unintelligible signature] Commander, U.S.N. Light-House Inspector

Last edit almost 2 years ago by caroleholmson
71

71

Department of Commerce and Labor Light-House Establishement

Office of Inspector,13th District Portland, Oreg.

24 September 1904

The Light-House Board, Washington, D. C.

Sirs. With reference to the Board's letter of 16 September, 1904, File No. 1053, in regard to my recommendatiom of 6 September, 1904, for the appointment of Mr. Michael Ludescher as Second Assistant Keeper at Yaquina Head Light Station, Oregon, I have to submit the following statement. Mr. Geo. O. T. Knudsen was offered an appointment as Assistant Keeper at Desdemona Sands Light Station, Oregon, and declined to accept on account of sickness in his family (letter of 30 March, 1904, enclosed.) As his reason for declining appeared to be of a temporary nature Mr. Knudsens's name was not removed from the list, but no further direct communication having been received from him, although another offer was addressed to him, I have now to consider his declination as permanent. This leaves Mr. Ludescher one of the first three available for appointment, and I have therefore to renew my recommendation.

Very respectfully,

C. G. Calkins Commander, U. S. N. Light-House Inspector

Last edit over 2 years ago by Ed
72

72

Department of Commerce and Labor Light-House Establishment

Office of Inspector, 13th District Portland, Oreg.

6 September, 1904

The Light-House Board, Washington.

Sirs. In accordance with the Board's letter of 30 August, 1904, File No. 1053, I recommend the appointment of Mr. Michael Ludescher as Second Assistant Keeper at Yaquina Head Light Station, Oregon, at a salary of $550.00 Mr. Ludescher has an average of 87.40 per sent in the list of eligibles for Assistant Keepers in Class 4, certified to the Board 2 April, 1904. Of those whose names stand above his on that list Mr. Otto Hansen (letter enclosed with recommendation of Mr. Cornelius W. Stidham (letter of 5 July, 1904, enclosed) have declined appointment to New Dungeness Light Station on account of the lack of suitable quarters for their families. THe same objection applies in the present case, as Yaquina Head Light Station has quarters for the families of only two Keepers. I was instructed br the Board's letter of 15 August, 1904, File No. 1053, to recommend for appointment at this station only "Assistant Keepers without families, or who understand that no accomodations for their families will be provided."

Last edit over 2 years ago by Ed
73

73

Mr. Ludescher accepts with this understanding.

Very respectfully,

C. G. Calkins Commander, U. S. N. Light-House Inspector

Last edit over 2 years ago by Ed
74

74

Department of Commerce and Labor Office Of The Secretary Washington

August 9, 1904

Gentleman:

In accordance with the Board's approval of August 9, 1904, File No. 1053, the Department hereby accepts the resignation of Mr. Edward Rice, of New York, as first assistant keeper at Yaquina Head Light-Station, Oregon, at a compensation of $600 per annum, effective from the close of busness June 30, 1904.

Respectfully,

???

Secretary. JAD.

The Light-House Board.

Last edit over 2 years ago by Guest User
Records 41 – 50 of 492