Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0358

1
Needs Review

1

California J200 James R. Jones Fresno County, Cal. April 24, '63

Enc. certificate of indebtedness, given him by Sub Agt. M. B. Lewis for supplies furnished the Fresno farm.

Claim of James R. Jones [expensed?] accounts, and referred to 2d Auditors for [illegible] [illegible] 230.94, and Mr. Jone's informed of same June 10, '63

[ink stamp] RECEIVED AT THE MAY 25 1863 INDIAN BUREAU

Finance

Last edit 3 months ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0423

1
Needs Review

1

Letter of Explanation

California L219 M. B. Lewis Fresno County, Cal. August 8, '63

Reply to office letter of June 22d last, and enc. statements of the indebtedness of the Fresno Indian Agency

See Letter Nov 25 1863

Return to Hayes Mr Clark [illegible] [illegible]

[ink stamp] RECEIVED AT THE SEP 5 1863 INDIAN BUREAU

Finance

Last edit about 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
8
Needs Review

8

[Left]

Fourth Quarter Ending 30th June 1860

Fiscal Year Jas. Y. McDuffie 1859 & 60 June 30th, 1860. As per voucher No. 1 $452.44 Credit 1860 By supplies furnished $452.44 Nothing due 000.00

John Keeln 1859 & 60 June 30, 1860. As per voucher No. 2 $21.30 Credit 1860 June 30th. By cash paid $21.30 Nothing due 00.00

Thos. Morris 1859 & 60 June 30th, 1860. As per voucher No. 3 $165.02 Credit 1860 Jany 30th. By cash $165.02 Nothing due 000.00

Wm. M. Lewis 1859 & 60 June 30th, 1860. As per voucher No. 4 $39.20 Credit 1860 June 30th. By cash $39.20 Nothing due 00.00

Continue

[Right]

Fiscal Year Chas. P. Converse 1859 & 60 June 30th, 1860. As per voucher No. 5 $25.00 On which amt no payment made

M. B. Lewis Sub Agt 1859 & 60 June 30th, 1860. As per voucher No. 6 $375.00 Credit 1860 June 30th. By cash $375.00 000.00

I do hereby certify on honor. That the foregoing statement is correct & just. That I have no peculiarly interest whatever in the [illegible] amount to these shown to be due the creditors neither do I claim any credit in my accounts, in consequence of the vouchers, thus issued, for the original amounts, or, the balance found due at the close of each quarter.

Given under my hand the 4th day of august 1863 M. B. Lewis Late Sub Ind Agt

Last edit 5 months ago by MaryV

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0288

5
Needs Review

5

Smith River Valley July 9.1863

G. M. Hanson Esqr

Dear Sir: The number of cattle I have on hand is 80 head more or less they will Sum up as follows

10 Head one year olds 20 " Two " " 15 " Three " " 35 Cows 80 I will delivre [deliver] the above cattle at the Smith River Reservation for 2 pr cents pr pound nett, payable in gold coin of the [Virtue Stullre?] or its equivelant on delivery Rachel Frame

Last edit 4 months ago by chaskins
7
Needs Review

7

G. M. Hanson Esqr

sir

I will contract to supply the number of live cattle as per advertisement in the Sacramento Union.

The Round Valley Reservation and the Mendocino Reservation at Eight (8) cents per lb net and the Smith River Reservation.

At nine cents & one half 9 1/2 cts per lb I will give the required bonds and security. for the full payment of the contract if awarded to me

Very Respectfully George D. Bliss

July 31st, 1863

Last edit 8 days ago by MaryV

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0362

2
Needs Review

2

Tehama California July 10, 1863

Commissioner of Indian Affairs,

Dear Sir Sometime within the last month I addressed you upon the subject of the allowance of the accounts of J. W. Burgess and Joel Lewis, Employees in Nome Cult Reservation. The accounts have been recommended, by the then Superintendent of Ind' Affairs, and also by Jno P. Wentworth; I am again requested by those gentlemen to solicit an answer to the enquiry, whether their accounts have been allowed - They are of opinions that they have been allowed for a long time, and that the money is in the hands of GM Hanson Supt Ind' Affr's for Northern Dist California; I would again call your attention to the destitute and degraded condition of the Indians in the County, hundreds of them are dependent alone upon the prostitution of their wives and daughters for a livelihood; they roam the County at Large stealing and molesting the peace and [illegible] of good citizens - and should be taken care of. There are a number of good loyal ranchmen in this County that would take charge of them, with but little remunerations from Government; and in a short time the Indians, would be able by his

Last edit about 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
3
Needs Review

3

labor, controlled by a Superintendent to [illegible] them clothe and feed them respectably;

I am confidant my dear sir, that if you will investigate this matter, you will discover that it is to the interest of the Indians and the Community at Large that they be farmed out to good and responsible ranchmen who will become denture for them during the time they may be so apprentices to such ranchmen.

I write this at the suggestion of many of the citizens of this County.

By corresponding with Als Loomis, RH Thomas, Harry Wilson, Capt Eastman; J. G Lyles and I. G Doll you will be more fully satsified that some such course should be adopted by the Commissioner in [illegible] to the Indians in Tehama County.

Yours Respectfully GW Jeffress

Last edit about 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0435

8
Needs Review

8

Fresno County California October 5th 1863

This is to certify that there is a balance of thirty four dollars ninety three cents ($34.93/100) due Jacob Lewis & Co, on Voucher Number 37, quarter ending 31st Decr 1858 for milling [illegible] for the use of the Fresno Indian Agency during the [illegible] quarter ending 31st Decr 1858.

Given under my hand M B Lewis late Sub Ind Agt. Fresno Agency

Last edit over 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
2
Needs Review

2

Fresno County California October 20th 1863

Hon Wm P Dole Comr. Ind Affs

Dear Sir, At the request of the parties interested, I have the honor to submit herewith enclosed, the [illegible] for the consideration of the Department, the claims of Jacob Lewis & Co, and Samuel A Merritt.

Very respectfully Your most obed Sert, M. B. Lewis late Sub Ind Agt

Last edit over 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0444

1
Needs Review

1

1863

California M12 W. H. McGrew

Submits statement in reference to the necessary furnishing [illegible] the employees on the Mendocino Reservation, in addition to the compensation allowed them

Mr Clerk

[ink stamp] RECEIVED AT THE JAN 30 1863 INDIAN BUREAU

Finance

Last edit about 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
Displaying pages 31 - 40 of 1291 in total