Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0444

4
Needs Review

4

habits, and gentlemen of standing, as I can vouch for the present men. I hope you will confer with Mr Hanson upon this subject. And if there is no positive rule of law prohibiting the government from furnishing the necessaries to the employees, that the same may be done, and what they have already provided out of their own means. That the same may be refunded to them. I am certain that $50. without these necessaries being furnished by government [illegible] not bring out the Laborer even [illegible] his quarter, add to this the fact that his [illegible] not being promptly paid. [illegible] due, he [illegible] credit, at inhanced [enhanced?] rates. [illegible] [illegible] [illegible] per cent per month interest. and really he [illegible] all behind every quarter.

Your early attention to this matter will be of importances to the parties here, as if they are not to be furnished they [illegible] cannot live by it, if however they are to be furnished with necessaries, they will remain.

If you do not [see?] Mr Hanson after receiving this, I refer you to Hon [illegible] M. C. from this state, who is personally acquainted with me. Also to Mr Sergeant & Senator Latham.

I was appointed Supervisor, and took charge of this Reservation on the 1st Oct last.

I Remain very Respectfuly Your Obedient Servant Wm. H. McGrew Supervr Men Res

Hon Wm. P. Dole Comr &c Washinton

Last edit 3 months ago by ashja
3
Needs Review

3

the Reservation- the only produce raised last year was Irish potatoes, and a few garden vegetables which they mostly raised themselves.

Now the inquiry I wish to make is, ought not the Employees in the Reservation, be furnished the necessary provisions by the government for their support? This was their understanding, at their time of their employment, and appointment by Mr. Hanson. as they inform me, and it was the custom heretofore, under former administrations when the salaries were double the present ones. I have understood Mr Hanson to day [today?] that he was not fully advised as to the matter, and therefore could not furnish the employees with the neccessaries, [illegible] government expense, without direct authority from your Department.

His attention has been called to it, but I presume through the month capacity of business he has always on hand, has neglected it, and as he is now on his way to Washington, the employees have urged me to write you on the subject, for information, The customary wages for laboring men in this vicinity is from $40, to $80, per month and [forced?] or boarded. The "Noyo Mills" (which by the way is on the Reservation and owned by a man by the name of McPherson) employs Constantly from fifty to 75 hands, and the least wages they are paid is $40 per month and boarded.

The government should at least pay as much as the customary wages. The most capacity as her employees are required to be men of good business qualities and

Last edit about 1 month ago by chaskins
2
Needs Review

2

Office Indian Affairs Northern District, California

Mendocino Indian 186 Reservation Northern District Cal

Hon Wm P Dole Commissioner of Indian Affairs Washington D.C.

Dear Sir, This Reservation is located in Mendocino County Cal. in the Pacific coast about 120 miles North of San Francisco. The boundaries of the Reservation use the Noyo river on the South, and Ten Mile river on the North. both rivers included in the same. "Head Quarters" is on the Noyo, at which place is the business place of the Supervisor, and his residence - He also acts as Laborer for the "Head Quarters." "Bald Hill" Station is about 4 miles from "Head Quarters" and there from the coast Wm Stuttins is the Laborer at that station; he has a wife and one child - Ten Mile River on Bedald station is on the northern boundary of the Reservation and is superintended by Mr. E. J. Whipple. These Laborers necessarily are the overseers or general Supernitendents of their respective stations, and the Supervisor has to entrust those with all the government property, and the control and management of the Indians upon their stations. Consequently their time and energy are both required to extend properly to their duties.

The salary of these employees is but $54 per month, and they paid their men provisions; except what is raised upon

Last edit 18 days ago by MaryV

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0448

3
Needs Review

3

beans, peas &c. I look upon the fishery as more than a compensation for the lack of the cereals, as they cannot be raised here to profit.

I am entirely satisfied, that from the meager means I have had with which to fish the present season, that with proper means for the same, an abundance of fish can always be had for Indian food, and only a few hundred dollars are necessary to put this business [illegible] to [illegible] to remove what is here [illegible] interior, or [rice?] [illegible] because the [illegible] made of life of the "Coast Indian" is as different from the Indian of the interior, as the country. and that [illegible] about as different as Maine is from Georgia, and besides the predicament [illegible] to any [illegible] change, They [illeigble] like to [illegible] the neighborhood where they have [illegible] mingle with tribes they know nothing [illegible] language, habits nor mode of life.

For these and other reasons I should advise Mr Hanson (he has advised with me on the subject before) not to merge, nor to work for the abandoment of the Mendocino Reservation.

With great respect I sincere very respectfully your obedient servant Wm. H. McGrew Supervisor Men Res

Last edit 3 months ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0456

6
Needs Review

6

Sworn [illegible] before me this 31st day of March AD 1863 [Wm?] [illegible] Notary Public State of California [illegible] On this 31st day of March AD 1863 [before?] the undersigned an acting Notary Public in and for the City & County of San Francisco [illegible] known to me [illegible] this applicant who in [illegible] that he was present on Mendocino Indian Reservation Northern District California during the year 1859 and up to the month of October [illegible]

Last edit over 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0467

2
Needs Review

2

Sir

Enclosed I send you three checks of $80.00 = $375.00 & $100.00 drawn on the U. S. Treasury at San Francisco by Mr. H. L. Ford - Sub Indian Agt - The checks are dated June 27th 1860 & by request of Mr. Chairman Sub [Treasur?] at San Francisco, I ask that they be examined & if correct - that an order [illegible?], be [illegible?] for pay't of the same.

If income please tell me in what particular that I may inform him & return them if necessary.

Very Respectfully Yours C. H. Parsons

Commissioner Indian Affairs Washington D. C.

Treaus'y Dept Office Internal Revenue Washington D.C. April 20th 1863

13-1

Last edit about 1 month ago by chaskins

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0479

1
Needs Review

1

California A1 P. A. Quinan M. D. Balt, May 9, '63

Enquires in relation to his a/c for services as Physician to the Indians on Mendocino Res. Cal.

See about this [illegible]

Answered May 13th 1863 Mr. Wells

[ink stamp] RECEIVED AT THE MAY 11 1863 INDIAN BUREAU

Finance

Last edit about 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
3
Needs Review

3

of it. A duplicate of this account was placed in the hands of Dr. [Multajut?] of your Dep't in Cal. who promised to write me. but he has niether [neither] done so or returned my paper. A duplicate was forwarded to your office by Maj Dreibelbis at least so he informs me. I rendered faithful service as I can readily prove and think it hard that I should not be paid. The service was from Septs 1860 _ to the spring of 1861 and amts to $1000.00. including medicines furnished by myself. I would respectfully desire to know if there is any way by which I can procure my money for the services I rendered your department ; Or whether the claim has been presented by anyone else or ackd

Last edit about 1 year ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
4
Needs Review

4

upon in any way. My constant presence on duty in the Army has prevented my attention to the matter in person. and I hope it will be attended to now by [attn?]. I possess letters in Maj Dreibelbis' own handwriting showing the services were rendered, and can prove it also by others including the Commanding Office of the Post (Fort Bragg) Capt J. P. Martin U.S.A. Hoping to receive an early reply

I have the honor to be Very Respectful Yr Ob Ser P. A. Quinan Surg. U.S.A

Box 223 P.O [Balt?]

Last edit 3 months ago by MaryV

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0483

3
Needs Review

3

Bible House Balts May 30 1863

Hon. Wm. P. Dole Com. Dep Ind Off. Indian Affairs

Dear Sir,

My son Dr. P. A. Quinan, is now with his Reg on the Rappahannock. He gave me directions to open his letters in business and attend especially to his claim on your Bureau.

Your letter informs me that the amount $900 will be paid. Many thanks for your prompt attention to this matter.

I write to remind you that the draft is to be made payable to my order, as he is now at the seat of war and cannot attend to it. He left an order with your Chief Clerk to his effect.

Very respectfully yours Obt Sev Tho. H. Quinan

Last edit 9 months ago by MaryV
Displaying pages 41 - 50 of 1293 in total