Letters of the Office of Indian Affairs, 1849-1880, California Superintendency

Pages That Need Review

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0488

2
Needs Review

2

Washington Feb. 19th 1863.

Dear sir, A friend writes to me that Joel F. Hill has an account against the U. S. for supplies furnished Henley & McDuffy for the Indians in California while they were Supts. Will you please inform me if this account (for $1310) has been approved, when the money will be forthcoming, when it will be paid, &c that I may inform my correspondent.

Respy A. A. Sargent, Cal.

Hon. W. P. Dole Comr Indian Affairs

Jany 14, '63 sent $1014 to J. F. Hill San Francisco the bed on [illegible]

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0495

4
Needs Review

4

verified by Messrs. Terill & Goodspeed both reputable men. They as well as my brother furnished their own board expenses during that period and were compelled from lack of pay from the Government to run in debt for the necessaries to sustain life as well as boarding Mr. Hanson's son & grandson as stated before, fort the period that they remained during the three months upon the Reservation.

It is not necessary for me to state it, but I have no hesitation in saying that Mr. Hanson's reputation among some of his former employees on the Reservation under his charge, is not above [defined?] for honesty & fair dealing. I think now of reputable men that have been under his employ. Personally, I have had no business transactions with him, but his letter to you that "his men were in charge" during the months of July, August, & September on the Klamath Reservation is, I am constrained to believe, utterly without foundation. Mr. Haight above & the three who visited the Reservation remained& performed some labor (not in charge however)

Last edit 15 days ago by MaryV
1
Needs Review

1

[Left]

California L59 W. S. Sherwood San Francisco, Cal March 20, '63

Submits statement in reference to the suspension by this office, of a portion of the claim by Thos. A. Sherwood

Rec'd April 18, '63

Answered May 2/'63 and copy of enclosed letter sent to G M Hanson

Com

[Right]

See whether the son & grandson have been reported as during the summer & whether they have been paid.

Send copy of this letter to Supt. Hanson and ask of he has any further information to give his us the [July I ?]

Comm

Last edit 8 days ago by MaryV

MF1323.1197 Reel 39_0505

1
Needs Review

1

California S191 James Short Nome Cult Res. Cal Oct 13,' 63

Submits statement of indebtedness to him of a/c of the Indian service &c

Ackd and copy sent to Agt Steele Jan 27 1864

Return this Com

See letter to [No?] that May 25 1865

Mr. Comr

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
7
Needs Review

7

all sick the supervisor road by them saw ther destitution and suffering and paid no heed to them the captain in command at this post hearing from every one that come by them of ther great suffering entirely destitue cituation nothing to eat no medical treatment and positively the hogs eating them up either before or after they was dead after I had been in the valley five days the capt came to me and stated that it become his duty to put some one in charge of those Indians that he had no officer that he could spare to go off to bring them in and wished me to engage in it I conceded he appointed me I went and brought aportion of them in Mr Steel has arived in the mean time and took the business out of my hands and put another man at it [illegible]

Last edit 11 months ago by County of Los Angeles Public Library
6
Needs Review

6

that I am [illegible] in this particular as I am in great need having expended this amounts for the service and then spent about seven hundred dollars going on last summer to try to get myself righted and failing it has left me quite destitute Hanson and the Dr has suceeded in prejudicing Mr Steel so that he has failed to reinstate me not from any charge against me for the place and crop showed for its self and they never attempted to sustain any of the charges that they had alledged against me but they picked up a new one when I got in the valley the acting Supervisor had been gone out about a week as was supposed to hunt up Mr Steel at all events he found him they had undertaken to bring those Indians back that left the reservation last fall they was left scattered from this place to the moun tain house distance of fifty miles and at the mountain house alone there was about one hundred and thirty verry nearly.

all sick the supervisor road by them saw ther destitution and suffering and paid no heed to them the captain in command at this past hearing from every one that came by them of ther

Last edit 8 months ago by MaryV
8
Needs Review

8

[illegible] that he will [Resign?] and [illegible] before he left the valley he said he would correspond with the Resident on the subject you will confer a great favor by seeing me [illegible] if in your power and let me know what steps to take at your erlyest convenience I remain dear Sir Respectfully yours Jas. Short Late Supt

PS I have just learned that Mr Steel positively refuses pay any of the expence of bringing those sick Indians from the mountains for whitch I am entitled to remuneration for thirteens days Services for my self and horse commencing on the 27th of Sept and [closing?] on the ninth of Oct last all of whitch is Respectuflly submitted James Short Late Supt Nome Cult Res

Last edit 5 months ago by MaryV
2
Needs Review

2

Nomcult Resurvation Cala Oct 13th 1863

Hon Charles E Mix Commissioner of Indian affrs at Washington City DC

Sir

I have the honor of Transmiting to you a statement of claims whitch I have against The United States Government for moneys paid of my own funds during the winter of Sixty Two and Three for a sustenance for the Indians on this Reservation and also for seed wheat also for one emplyee on this Reservation freight and storage on garden seeds Beans and peas and Expenses of a trip from this Resrvation to San francisco under Superintendent Hansons order also money retained by Hanson from my salary as Supervisor he claiming that my salary had been curtailed also money expended for expences of Pack Train in my last on trip to Ukiah City under Hansons order the United States

Last edit 22 days ago by JWithrow
3
Needs Review

3

[illegible] of [illegible] Smith 22,700 lbs Indian corn 2 cts $454.00 6624 ... [illegible] Wheats [illegible].. paid in gold 198.12 $652.12 The United States [illegible] [illegible] To John Bowens [illegible] for 1536 lbs. Wheat @ 3 ¢ 46.08 20 1000 lbs. Potatoes @ 3 ¢ 30.00 The United States $ 7608 To Laurence Botteil [Sr.?] March 15th 1862 For 1700 lbs. Seed Wheat @ 3 cts in gold $51.00 To Antonia Seger [Sr.?] [illegible]1862 1000 lbs. of Indian Corn 2 cts. in gold $20.00 The United States To George Bowers [Sr.?] [illegible]1862 To services rendered the United States as Employe at Round Valley Reservation from the fifth day of [illegible] date hereof enclusion at fifty dollars The United States To James Mears [Sr.?] Nov 10 1862 Cash paid for hawling Indian goods garden Seeds [illegible] from the Warf in Tehama [illegible]

Last edit 22 days ago by JWithrow
4
Needs Review

4

James [Mears?] Dr

Nov 1868 Cash paid for hawling Indian goods garden seeds &c from the Warf in Tehama to warehouse work and commission on the same fifteen dollars in coin

The United States

James Short Dr

May 15th 1865

To a balance on services rendered the United States as supervisor on the Nome Cult Reservation from the first of July 1862 To date here of Inclusion twenty five dollars per month $262.50

Also forty two dollars and fifty cts paid out for stage fare, steamboat fare and [Hotell bills?] from this place to San francisco under Hansons order to receive the salerys [of the?] employees on this Reservation [the?] of his leaving for Washington city last December distance of four hundred miles also seven dollars expences for the pack train going and returning to Ukiah city last May under Hansons order for familys as employees on this reservation Hanson wrote to the post master at Ukiah city to detain the train until the familys arive he detained them four days and they did not come neither have they come yet the above [illegible]

Last edit 22 days ago by JWithrow
Displaying pages 51 - 60 of 1291 in total