Wawanosh Family

Pages That Need Review

Wawanosh Sands Mern_fonds_Series 1 correspondence File 2

17
Needs Review

Sales of [inserted above] Timber to a great extent are [repeported?] to have been made on the Reserve at [Carradoc?] [Caradoc] You will therefore ascertain as correctly as possible the quantity and value of the Timber and staves plundered, and the parties Indians or others, who have been guilty of this act of wrong doing --

The [amount?] of profit made by any Indian out of such unlawful transactions should be taken from the monies payable to him carrying the amounts stopped to the general funds of the band -- Thus giving to [their?] permanent funds the benefit of all timber whether cut lawfully or unlawfully

I have the honor to be [Sir?] Your Obedient Servant [Signed?] Wm Spragge -- D S [I?] A [underlined]

Dues payable by Sarnia Indians for timber cut on License on their Reserves

Oak timber per thousand feet $25.00 [West?] India Staves " 2 Pipe " " 6.50 Soft Wood per Cord ".10 [followed by a curly bracket on the right side of this line and the following line, indicating the following comment applies to both lines] If cut on their own [Lots?] Hard " " " ".15

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
18
Needs Review

Greenwood Franklin Co [County] [Kansas?] Friday Jan 30th 1863.

Joshua [Wevanosh?] [Wawanosh] Dear brother in law

Your letter of Jan. 12th was received last Monday the 26th, and I was very glad to hear from you and to receive you letter. I and my family are all well of which I am glad, and [so?] are all my sons and daughters and the people around her. [Penes waw gum?], my sisters son is quite well again; since he lost his wife he stays with Edward McCoones his cousin. But his little child is [unwell?] a good deal, it frets after its mother.

Tell [Joset?] my sister that her son [Penes waw gwum?] cannot get any money to go and see his mother. We bave had no annuities for near four years ; if he had the money he would go at once, or if he gets it he will go at once. The reason [we?] have not drawn payment is because of the bad agents we have had We have now a new one, he has not yet moved to the agency and I have not yet seen him but am told he is a perfectly good man and honest and will do things right.

The Superintendant [under?] the [former?] administration put our money out on interest in Kansas, bu we never

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
19
Needs Review

but we never drew any interest. The agents and superintendant promised it [to us?] time after time but it never came. Our present superintendant and agent will, we think, try to find out what has been done with that interest and arrange matters properly, and get the whole of the money due us.

To Jacob [?azi?] :

My dear father :

I was very glad to hear from you and thankful that you are still spared. I never forget you since you traveled with me so much over the country. When we made the treaty I remembered you, and gave you and my mother each forty acres of land. Every individual here, large and small old and young drew the same. Your land has good timber on it, but it cannot be sold to any white man only to one of our own number There are some who would like to have the land, but they have no money to buy it, but when we get payment some one may buy it and I will then send you the money. The reason we have not yet drawn any money you will see from what I wrote in another part

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
20
Needs Review

of this letter. And this is also the reason you have not received any money. So soon as we get payment you will get money, and continue to draw with us so long as you live. You wil also draw once, this coming payment, for my mother, but [then?] no more for her. We would be very glad if you would come and see us and stay several months you [might?] then see to your land to suit yourself ; and also all my children still remember you and would be glad to see you. [We?] would do the best for you that we could, to show you kindness. Father you are old now like myself and coming nearer the grave, but you must not be afraid to travel now There is no danger on the road here, all is quiet so that you can come to see us. All is quiet about [here] [crossed out] us [written above]. One of my son-in-laws after [corn?]- planting in spring went to Wisconsin and came home a few days ago, and there was no danger at all anywhere on the road. [So- kee-po?] my nephew can come with [you if you want to come] [written above] [Wenosh?] must help me get [So keepo?] to com [come] and bring [with him?] [written above] what medicine he has. If he comes he can go from Detroit to [Juliot?] [Joliet?], then to Quincy, then to St. Joseph, from there to

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
21
Needs Review

Leavenworth, then to Lawrence and from there to [Sac?] & [Fox?] Agency, or to Old agency. [Tell?] [Pepegwa?]. You asked me about your children. Since I have met with misfortune I have not been to see them. Two years ago your oldest son, Jim, was here to see me. Since, I have heard through my son Edward, who was there to visit him over a year ago, that he was still well and his wife too, only that his two oldest children died, and he has his one remaining yet, the youngest. Your children whom you left among the Kickapoos I know nothing of but by writing to your oldest son Jim you can find out all [or?] most about them, how many are still living and how they get on. He may know more about them as he lives near by. His post office is, [St. Mary Mission, Pottowatomi nation, Kansas.] [all underlined]

If [Sokepoo?] will not come, Thomas [Wewanosh?] must come. One kind of medicine I want. Thos [Bigknife?] knows it. It is called. [Cha-che-chaw-pu-kuk?]. Of this I want a great deal. Francis McCoones [McCoonse] [?istesoon?] or [Esh tonquit]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
22
Needs Review

To

The Honorable The Legislative Assembly of the Province of Canada in Parliament assembled

The Petition of the undersigned Members of the Sarnia Indian Band

Humbly Sheweth

That Your Petitioners are of Opinion that the Indians of the Great Manitoulin cannot be kept from intemperance if spirituous liquors are by law allowed to be sold on said Island.

That there are many of the best White Men and Indians of Canada who would gladly if they could [retreat?] to some place where they would not be tempted by a person by the law authorized to sell them spirituous liquors.

Your Petitioners would therefore humbly pray that the law of Canada may be so amended as to prevent for all time to come both the manufacture and sale of every description of spirituous liquors upon the Great Manitoulin and other Canadian Islands in Lake Huron and Georgian Bay.

And Your Petitioners as in duty bound will ever pray &c

Dated the 18th August 1865. [all underlined]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
23
Needs Review

Dr. [printed by printing press] Chippewas of Sarnia

1862

Jany. 7th To. Amount paid A. Fisher. acc. postage. X 2 65 April 7th To Amount paid A. Fisher. acc. postage X 1 95 April 1st To Amount paid Dr. T. W. Johnston. acc. medicines X 29 29 " " To Amount paid [Nx?] {H?] [Mac?nrie?]. acc. Coffins 28 50 July 12th To Amount paid D B. Wawanosh. acc Salary X 100 00 " " To Amount paid Charlotte [Adams?], acc Salary X 37 50 Augt 4th to Amount paid A. Fisher. acc postage X 1 05 Sept. 30th To Amount of balance for distribution 2,613 68 [underline] $2,814 62

[O? L? Walcot?] acct. [?ll.?]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
24
Needs Review

in Account Current with the INDIAN DEPARTMENT. Cr. [printed by printing press]

1862

Sept. 30. [By?] Amount of Interest on Investments. quarter to 31: Mar: 62 } 657 34 " " [By?] Amount of Interest on Investments quarter to 30: June '62 } 657 28 " " [By?] Amount of Annuity. half year to 30 Sept. 62 } 1,500 00

[underline] $2,814 62 [underlined]

Indian Department Quebec 30th. Sept. 1862

[Wm?] Spragge D S I A

1314 15 00

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
25
Needs Review

[AUG.?] 1864

Statement of [sums? paid by Messrs D. C. Thomson [&c?]. for Timber [dues] or Timber [cut?] upon the Sarnia and Bosanquet Indian Reserves.

Date [at top of left column] Amount [at top of right column] $ c [in right column] Decr 1862 29 Bonus money for the two Reserves 430 00 April 1863 25 Half dues on 5000 [ft?] [feet] oak -- [Bond?] for other half 312 50 July 4 [do?] [ditto?] Timber on Bos. Res -- -- [do?] [ditto?] -- 18[7] [crossed out] 2 50 [182 50] Sept 4 [do?] [ditto?] " Sarnia Res -- [do?] [ditto?] -- 61 32 Oct 27 Payment of [Bond?] dated 25 April 321 87 Decr 22 Half dues on [staves?] Bosanquet Res. Bond for [1/2?] 80 00 Janry 1864 11 Payment of[Bond?] dated 4th July 187 97 March 23 [do?] [ditto?] [do?] [ditto?] " 4 Sept. 63 16 " Half dues on Sarnia Timber 112 20 May 31 [do?] [ditto?] [do?] [ditto?] [Walnut?] on Bos. Res 114 86 June 30 Payment of [Bond?] dated 22 Decr 82 40 [amount underlined to indicate end of tally column] $1948 78 [right column] Bond payable 21st Septr. next 115 06 Bond payable 1st Decr next 118 30 [amount underlined] Total -- $2182 64 [right column, double underlined]

Indian Office Sarnia Augst 8th 1864

John S. [Thornton?] [?.S.I.A]

Last edit about 3 years ago by Debo
26
Needs Review

[MAY?] [1859?]

Current with the Chippewas of Sarnia [?]

1857

[$?] ch [right column] Apl 15 Dr Johnston Medical services 44 31 27 Distributed by [Mr?] [Supdt?] [Superintendent] Talfourd 989 17 July 18 Salary to Chief D [Wauanosh?] [Wawanosh] 100 [Do?] [Ditto?] [Wm?] [Cooley?] Teacher 37 50 Oct 6 Allowance to Joshua[Wauanosh?] [Wawanosh] 125 -- " [Do?] [Ditto?] Chief David [Wauanosh?] [Wawanosh] 100 " " Peter Salt 50 " Salary to Henry Beeson Teacher 37 50 Oct 16 Dr Johnston Medical Services 44 86 " William [Wauanosh?] [Wawanosh] for House 170 " Yoke of Oxen [Mashetsosh?] 100 " [Furguson?] for school house 125 " [Removing?] [sum?ers?] house 40 21 Distributed by [Mr?] [Supd?] [Superintendent] [Talfourd?] 405 68 [Subscription?] to Industrial School 375 [W?] B [Clarke?] for supplies 108 63 1858 Jany 5 Salary to Chief [Wauanosh?] [Wawanosh] 100 15 R [& H McKenzie?] for Coffins 20 50 23 Subscription to P Jones' [Monument?] 25 Mar 18 Aged & [Infirm?] persons. 340 31 Salary to Chief D [Wauanosh?] [Wawanosh] 125 [Do?] [Ditto?] . Peter Salt 50 Salay [Salary] to Hy Beeson Teacher 37 50

$ 3,688.15 [in right column]

Balance in hand 630 [amount in right column]

$4318.15 [in right column]

Last edit about 2 years ago by MaryV
Displaying pages 11 - 20 of 40 in total