Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Correspondence with David Starr Jordan

Untitled Page 3
Needs Review

Untitled Page 3

[in another hand, notation top right: 149.1]

[notation] [V? ✓?] [/notation]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

NUMBER [L?] / SENT BY [Gr?] / REC'D BY D / CHECK 17 D H

Received at 90[2 A?] May 9 1891

Dated Menlo Park Calif 9

To David S Jordan

We have decided to name the Boys Dormitory Encina Hall Encina being the Spanish for live oak

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 4
Needs Review

Untitled Page 4

[in another hand, notation top right: 149.2]

[notation] [V? ✓?]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

NUMBER [L?] / SENT BY [K?] / REC'D BY D / CHECK 53 D H

Received at 915 A May 16 1891

Dated Mentlo Park Calif 16

To David S Jordan

I approve proof sheets of your Prospectus but have decided to name the Dormitaries after live oak and white oak which are the principal natural trees in this Valley, for the boys dormitary {Escina Hall} and for the girls dormitory {Robles Blancho Hall} being the Spanish names for live oak and white oak

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 5
Needs Review

Untitled Page 5

[in another hand, notation top right: 151.1]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

[notation: 261]

NUMBER [L?] / SENT BY [Gr?] / REC'D BY M / CHECK 10 D H

Received at 751a May 21 1891 [in another hand, notation: 1891]

Dated Mentlo Park Calif 20

To David S. Jordan

We will have accommaditions for eighty girls by October first

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

[in another hand, notation top right: 151.2]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

NUMBER L / SENT BY NA / REC'D BY M / CHECK 32 D H

Received at 1128P May 26 1891

Dated Vina Calif 26

To Dr David S. Jordan

As a [neuclus?] to start in with I think a library such as a gentleman would have for his own use to cost about four or five thousand dollars would be sufficient

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 7
Needs Review

Untitled Page 7

[in another hand, notation top right: 153]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

NUMBER L / SENT BY Gr / REC'D BY M / CHECK 1[2?] D H

Received at 751A May 30 1891

Dated Menlo Park Calif 29

To Dr David S. Jordan

Do not engage [Nissen?] for Professor of gymnastics I will write you

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 8
Needs Review

Untitled Page 8

[in another hand, notation top right: 155.1]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

[notation: 17]

NUMBER L / SENT BY Dr / REC'D BY M / CHECK 14 D H

Received at 415P June 1 1891

Dated San Francisco Park Calif 1

To Dr David S Jordan

I think it better that we should defer the agricultural branch for the present

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 9
Needs Review

Untitled Page 9

[in another hand, notation top right: 155.2]

THE WESTERN UNION TELEGRAPH COMPANY

NUMBER L / SENT BY [W?] / REC'D BY D / CHECK 17 D H Pass

Received at 810a June 10 1891

Dated Mentlo Park Calif 9

To Dr David S Jordan

Your telegram [received?] I find no occassion to offer any suggestions in regard to Circular number four

Leland Stanford

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus

Frederick Law Olmsted

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

LELAND STANFORD JR. UNIVERSITY.

The shaded buildings correspond to the first six advised to be built at once by Gen. Walker, and would accomodate about 200 Students (32500 sq. ft.)

These buildings with their L additions and the others shown in dotted lines include the whole series of School buildings proposed by Gen. Walker, and would be sufficient for 600 Students. (71500 sq. ft.) He assumes that this would be all that would be needed for the first five or ten years.

All the other School buildings inside the first quadrangle of streets would be very nearly double the floor space and would therefor accomodate about 1500 Students. (138200 sq. ft.)

Inside this first quadrangle of streets there is also room for:--

1st. Church or Large Assembly Hall.

2rd. Library.

3rd. Art Museum.

4th. Museum of Natural History.

[large blue notation: 96]

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 2
Needs Review

Untitled Page 2

The three quadrangles with the buildings as shown would afford very ample accomodation for 5000 Students, according to the rate of increase stated by Gen. Walker. (421400 sq. ft.)

The Shops would furnish 75000 sq. ft. more floor surface.

Brookline, Mass.

11th. February 1887.

Last edit over 2 years ago by hesperus
Untitled Page 3
Needs Review

Untitled Page 3

Brookline, Mass. 14th July, 1889

[Large blue notation: 272]

The Hon. Leland Stanford,

Dear Sir: We are completing and expect to send in a day or two the last of the series of working drawings for the grading of the streets and approaches of the university prepared under your instructions of last Fall.

Among them there will be the drawings for the terrace walls north of Garden Avenue designed with a view to the use of a good deal of irregular stone struck off the blocks sit in the buildings.

We have today received a note from the Engineer reporting that grading operations are expected to begin tomorrow and to be prosecuted rapidly. But he adds that you have expressed a doubt about adhering to the plan in respect to the panels for shrubbery and an intention to write to us on the subject. We think we should advise you without delay that a

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Displaying Page 51 - 60 of 583 in total