Leland Stanford Papers

Pages That Need Review

Pages That Need Transcription

Correspondence (incoming) - M

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

131

San Francisco April 3rd 1874

Gov Stanford City

Dr Sir: Being very much in need of money. I beg to request that you will find it convenient to send me a check for the balance due on my account, which is $ [1??8?.39] and greatly oblige.

Yours respectfully,

Chas. McLaughlin

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

to kindly designate the day and as near as possible the hour you will arrive and about how long you could remain with us -

Trusting that our invitation may prove agreeable to you and be accepted

We Are Very Truly Yours [J H Jeswett] [D E Knight] [N.J. Hamlin] Edwards Woodruff Chas. E. Stone [W.J.] Ellis [He Dougall] E.A. David J.A. Woodward M. Marenn [Le.T.] Crane

Marysville September 21 1889

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 10
Needs Review

Untitled Page 10

are in good health, and ready for the writers' campaign.

Yours sincerely, L.P. Morton

Hon Leland Stanford U.S.S.

Decr [9?]th

Last edit about 1 month ago by MaryV

John Monohan suit

Untitled Page 5
Needs Review

Untitled Page 5

required by the party of the first part for the purpose of irrigation or otherwise at any point above the County Road Bridge not however of such a height as to overflow or injure the lands of the said party of the second part.

And to quit and deliver up the premises hereby leased, to the lessor or his superintendant peaceably and quietly when required to do so, in as good order and condition as the same are now.

In witness whereof said parties have hereunto set their hands the day and date above written

Alfred [Parratt??], Supt for

Leland Stanford seal John Monahan seal

In presence of A true copy of an original recorded at request of Frank Shay March 26th at 30 min past 10 oclock am

H. [Malkin? Walker?] County Recorder

By [Max Lipp?] Deputy

[image: white embossed seal (partial), eagle, "COUNTY RECORDER OF SAN MATEO COUNTY"]

Last edit 9 months ago by Jannyp
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

[preprinted] STATE OF CALIFORNIA, County of San Mateo. } SS.

I, [/preprinted] J F Johnston, [preprinted] County Recorder in and for the County of San Mateo, State of California, do hereby certify the annexed to be a true, full and correct copy of the record of an instrument as the same appears of record in Liber [/preprinted] 2 [preprinted: of] Leases, [preprinted: at page] 105 [preprinted] records of said county, now remaining in my office.

In Witness Whereof I have hereunto set my hand and seal of office, this [/preprinted] 5th [preprinted: day of] March, [preprinted: A. D. 18]90

J F Johnston, [preprinted] County Recorder.

_________, Deputy Recorder. [/preprinted]

[image: white embossed seal, eagle, "COUNTY RECORDER OF SAN MATEO COUNTY CALIFORNIA"]

Last edit almost 4 years ago by hesperus

Mark Hopkins

Untitled Page 1
Needs Review

Untitled Page 1

Office Central Pacific Railroad, Corner Front and California Streets.

San Francisco, May 18th, 1867

Mark Hopkins Esq

Your letter of yesterday rec'd. Appreciating the fact that it must necessarily be some time before we can draw more Govt aid I have been looking around here for money and find the market rather favorable, still I have got nothing certain unless it is $90000 which I had partly got the promise of before my last visit to Sacramento, this sum I shall probably get inside of ten days.

I called to day and had some talk with Mills about making coupons payable in London. He thinks if we intend to negotiate our bonds there it is advisable. Would it not be well to provide for payment in London at an agency on all coupons where notice was given at the agency 30 days before coming due

Such a clause would have a tendency to prevent coupons going from NY to London for payment

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 2
Needs Review

Untitled Page 2

about surveys and shops whatever the rest of you conclude will be satisfactory to me.

You understand it best and will no doubt meet the necessities of the case, and that above must be the wisest policy now -

Please tell the Judge that [McL?] says for him to keep the papers until he comes down. I regret to hear of the accident to Mrs Charles [Crocker?] Also to learn that the Judge is not very well.

George Aldrich is down here He tells me that there is a wide spread prejudice among the Chinamen against Sissons. This he did not wish me to mention, but I have taken the liberty to mention it to you -

Do not let him ever hear of [it?].-

From what Chinamen have said to me I am inclined to think he states a fact.

Yours truly,

Leland Stanford

From Leland Stanford - May 17/67 As to finances etc. As to making coupons payable in Europe.

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 6
Needs Review

Untitled Page 6

down and he will understand the matter better. Mr Laughlin has arranged so that "balance" note for 18,500 (about) shall go to [Siming?] and [Lenny?] takes Mr Laughlins note 18 months with our endorsements for the balance of his claim, we to hold the lands, [?] 20000 acres & 30 sections as security. In relation to the 1st mortgage bonds that Mr Huntington wrote about as having been used for the purchase of Stock, there wre 210 used. What R Stock Park had [?] accounts for the Bonds used in the purchase at par in currency. I will find out about Dorsey I know there was such a man arround Virginia.

I was expecting to go up to day but from the [judge's?] letter I presume it not to be necessary.

Yours truly

Leland Stanford

From.

Leland Stanford.

May 18. 1867.

As to the [?] Note & its consideration. McLaughlin intends to make [Park?] take it back. Mc accounts for the 210. 1st Mtg. Bond to Park. Will find out who Dorsey is.

Last edit about 2 years ago by hannahb25
Untitled Page 7
Needs Review

Untitled Page 7

37A

Office Central Pacific Railroad,

Corner Front and California Streets.

San Francisco, May 30th 1867

Mark Hopkins Esq

Your letter of yesterday rec'd

I fear you are correct in your surmises about Cole, I have had one general talk with him and from it I came to the same conclusion as yourself, I have arranged to take him out riding to day when I will have a fair chance. If nothing else can be done I hope to spike his battery.

A good many of those in the peoples party here say their movement has no hostility to Mr [Conroy?], but I notice his enemies all seem to favor its movements. The way this city goes will be likely to determine the result and I think it should exercise the first consideration. The result of the contest here will have an unfortunate bearing on Sacramento. Yours truly

Leland Stanford

Last edit 2 months ago by MaryV
Untitled Page 8
Needs Review

Untitled Page 8

From

L. Stanford.

May 30. 1867

Cole adverse to [Conroy?] re-election.

Peoples party claim not to be against [Conroy?] but it appears to be acting in opposition.

Primary in San Francisco will determine the character of the State Convention.

Last edit about 2 years ago by hannahb25
Displaying Page 1 - 10 of 581 in total